Luca Yupanqui


Image of Luca Yupanqui - ConversationsImage of Luca Yupanqui - Conversations
<< prev Image Slideshow next >>
Record Label
Sacred Bones

About this item

Last year Sacred Bones released the groundbreaking album Sounds of the Unborn which was made by using biosonic MIDI technology to translate Luca Yupanqui’s in utero movements into sound. With the help of her parents, Psychic Ills bassist Elizabeth Hart and Lee Scratch Perry collaborator Iván Diaz Mathé, Luca’s prenatal essence was captured in audio. They designed a ritual, a kind of joint meditation for the three of them, with the MIDI devices hooked to Elizabeth’s stomach, transcribing its vibrations into Iván’s synthesizers. They let the free-form meditations flow without much interference, just falling deeper into trance and feeling the unity. After five hour-long sessions, the shape of an album began to emerge. Elizabeth and Iván then edited and mixed the results of the sessions, respecting the sounds as they were produced, trying to intervene as little as possible, allowing Luca’s message to exist in its raw form.

The album received widespread attention and was featured in NPR, The Guardian and Audiofemme among others. Conversations is an album featuring remixes by some of contemporary music’s most visionary participants including electronic music pioneer Suzanne Ciani, new age legend Laraaji, fan favorites Peaking Lights and up and coming star Nialah Hunter, among others. These remixes bring new and vibrant musicality to the richly dimensional and moving sounds created with the original release.


A1. V2.2 (Suzanne Ciani Remix)
A2. V3.2 (Peaking Lights Remix)
A3. V4.2 (Hiro Kone Remix)
A4. V3.1 (Nailah Hunter Remix)
B1. V2.1 (Dallas Acid Remix)
B2. V5 (Dean Hurley Remix)
B3. V1 (Morita Vargas Remix)
B4. V4.1 (Laraaji Remix)

You may also like

Back to top