Neil Young + Promise Of The Real

Noise & Flowers

Image of Neil Young + Promise Of The Real - Noise & FlowersImage of Neil Young + Promise Of The Real - Noise & Flowers
<< prev Image Slideshow next >>

About this item

‘Noise & Flowers’ documents a 9-date tour that began just two weeks after Young’s lifetime friend and manager of more than 50 years, Elliot Roberts, passed away at the age of 76. Performing alongside a photograph of Roberts taped to his road case, Young approached each show as a celebratory memorial service to honour his late friend. It’s a trek the legendary singer/songwriter describes as “wondrous.”

In the album’s liner notes, Young says, “Playing in his memory [made it] one of the most special tours ever. We hit the road and took his great spirit with us into every song. This music belongs to no one. It’s in the air. Every note was played for music’s great friend, Elliot.”

In paying tribute to the manager who guided Young’s career for over a half-century, ‘Noise & Flowers’ explores all corners of his vast discography. It balances all-timer anthems (‘Mr. Soul’, ‘Helpless’, ‘Rockin’ in the Free World’) with rarely aired ‘70s deep cuts (‘Field of Opportunity’, ‘On the Beach’) and ’90s gems (‘From Hank to Hendrix’, ‘Throw Your Hatred Down’). His frequent backing band since 2015, Promise of the Real effectively bridges the extremes in Young’s sound, infusing his raging rockers and country serenades with their casual brilliance and telepathic intuition.

The companion film (directed by Bernard Shakey and dhlovelife) emphasizes both the intimacy and ecstasy of these performances.

‘Noise & Flowers’ is entry No. PS 21 in the Neil Young Archives Performance Series of live releases – a special addition to a robust, and still-growing catalogue.


Side A
01 Mr. Soul
02 Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere
03 Helpless
04 Field Of Opportunity
05 Alabama
Side B
01 Throw Your Hatred Down
02 Rockin’ In The Free World
Side C
01 Comes A Time
02 From Hank To Hendrix
03 On The Beach
04 Are You Ready For The Country
Side D
01 I’ve Been Waiting For You
02 Winterlong
03 Fuckin’ Up

Back to top