Yosa Peit


Image of Yosa Peit - PhytonImage of Yosa Peit - Phyton
<< prev Image Slideshow next >>
Record Label
Fire Records

About this item

Debut from genre-defying producer, Yosa Peit. Laurie Anderson meets Bjork; Prince overlapped with Arthur Russell and the hum of Blue Velvet, with jarred and splintered ambient production reminiscent of Aphex Twin. ‘Phyton’ gets a special expanded edition via Fire Records, featuring unreleased tracks; ‘Tyrann’, a live version of the haunting album track ‘Serpentine’ and end of the night lament, ‘Rise’.

‘Phyton’ is a conundrum with its own humour and beauty amid the electronica soundtracking; it’s a record that’s defied genre categories when first released on Tax Free Records two years ago. Yosa’s ascension from singer to producer is now complete.

“In my head I was making a movie,” Yosa told No Wave magazine, “I dreamed up a Coen Brothers’ movie scene for a few tracks.” The result is a haunting, provocative sound; a soundscape where songs merge and splinter, a trip that’s never predictable.

"The production is super fresh" Holly Herndon.

“Warped lo-fi meets glitchy electronica and pop” The Vinyl Factory.


A1 Precious Lies
A2 Serpentine
A3 Anthy
A4 Curls
A5 Leaf I
B1 Serious People Chuckle
B2 Elephant
B3 Leaf II
B4 Lin
B5 New Stars
B6 Palm Tree Antenna
B7 Tyrann

Download Extras:
1. Serpentine (Live Bonus)
2. Rise (Bonus)

You may also like

Back to top