Wye Oak

If Children

Image of Wye Oak - If Children
Record Label
Merge Records

About this item

The duo of Jenn Wasner and Andy Stack present an exuberant and assured debut seamlessly combining elements of noise, folk, and shoegaze to create a style all their own. Originally self-released in 2007 under the moniker Monarch, Wye Oak’s debut If Children was given a proper introduction to the world the following spring on Merge Records. Jenn Wasner and Andy Stack take their minimalist setup to maximalist ends, pairing gentle campfire folk with bombastic hazy shoegaze, sometimes within the same song. 


1. Please Concrete
2. Warning
3. Regret
4. Archaic Smile
5. Family Glue
6. Orchard Fair
7. I Don’t Feel Young
8. Keeping Company
9. A Lawn To Mow
10. If Children Were Wishes
11. Obituary

Back to top