The Twilight Sad

Fourteen Autumns & Fifteen Winters - 2022 Reissue

Image of The Twilight Sad - Fourteen Autumns & Fifteen Winters - 2022 Reissue
Record Label
Fat Cat

About this item

‘Fourteen Autumns…’ is a complete record, the nine tracks working together to create a strong narrative flow. Deceptively simple songs are rendered transcendent. Bleached, overdriven guitars consistently ride a line between ambient and coruscating, working in tandem with an articulate, at times tumultuous rhythm section, forever poised between tension and release. Augmented by piano and more frequently accordion, which provide the songs with a dramatic swoon, The Twilight Sad purvey an awestruck, ragged sentimentality. Lyrically suggestive and metaphorical, their songs give glimpses of bitter experience and romantic failure, their songs at times verging on the anthemic or celebrative, yet firmly rooted in the familiar, often unsaid hurt behind day to day events.


Side A
1. Cold Days From The Birdhouse
2. That Summer, At Home I Had Become The Invisible Boy
3. Walking For Two Hours
4. Last Year’s Rain Didn’t Fall So Hard
Side B
1. Talking With Fireworks / Here, It Never Snowed
2. Mapped By What Surrounded Them
3. And She Would Darken The Memory
4. I’m Taking The Train Home
5. Fourteen Autumns & Fifteen Winters

Back to top