Chubby And The Gang

The Mutt's Nuts

Image of Chubby And The Gang - The Mutt's Nuts

About this item

West London five-piece Chubby and the Gang are balanced by two energies – a casual “fuck it” on one side, an active “fuck off” on the other. For every moment of punk imperfection, there’s an intricate flurry of detail. For every enraged statement about modern life as war, there’s a lyric like “Hello heartbreak, my old friend” that catches you off guard. Made up of musicians from across the consistently thriving and criminally overlooked UK hardcore scene (ft. The Chisel, Big Cheese and more), Chubby and the Gang marinate its characteristic speed and sick-of-it-all energy in a mixture of 50s pop sounds. The result is a prickly take on the older, more melodic genres that punk derives from, chewing them up and spitting them out into something mangled but revitalised.

Fronted by Charlie Manning Walker (aka Chubby Charles) and backed by Tom ‘Razor’ Hardwick, Meg Brooks Mills, Ethan Stahl and Joe McMahon (aka the Gang), the band tell stories of modern London.


Barry says: Chubby And The Gang manage to weave together a scathing, 90's pop-punk aesthetic with 50's rock and roll via doo-wop and hardcore. It's a baffling and HIGHLY effective combination, and one that I couldn't imagine anyone else pulling off except these lot. It's superb, a well accomplished and brilliantly listenable treat.


1 The Mutt’s Nuts
2 It’s Me Who’ll Pay
3 Coming Up Tough
4 On The Meter
5 Beat That Drum
6 Pressure
7 Take Me Home To London
8 Life On The Bayou
9 White Rags
10 Overachiever
11 Someone's Gunna Die
12 Getting Beat Again (Eppu Normaali)
13 Life’s Lemons
14 Lightning Don’t Strike Twice
15 I Hate The Radio

Back to top