New Age Steppers

Foundation Steppers

Image of New Age Steppers - Foundation Steppers
Record Label
On-U Sound

About this item

The third New Age Steppers arrived in 1983 and marked a sea change in approach, a warmer sounding record than the two thrilling-but-abrasive LPs that had preceded it.

Part of this was down to frontwoman Ari Up moving to Jamaica and instigating proceedings with a session at the legendary Channel One with Style Scott and a JA horn section, before bringing the tapes back to London for Adrian Sherwood to work on. The other big factor was bringing in Bim Sherman to step up to the mic on several tracks, after interpreting some of his material on the previous albums. His distinctive croon works as the perfect foil to Ari’s own vocal takes, and the resulting album is perhaps the closest the collective got to laying down an album that is identifiably roots reggae, albeit still breaking tradition with colourful synth tones and a post-punk production sensibility.

First time available on vinyl since original release, includes download card and printed inner featuring new sleevenotes and interviews by Oli Warwick.


A1 Some Love
A2 Memories
A3 5 Dog Race
A4 Misplaced Love

B1 Dreamers
B2 Stabilizer
B3 Stormy Weather
B4 Vice Of My Enemies
B5 Mandarin

Back to top