Howe Gelb


Image of Howe Gelb - Gathered

About this item

A wandering troubadour in search of treasured happenstance.” Quietus / The 24th solo studio album from Giant Sand mainman Howe Gelb. Following two much-praised jazz-tinged ‘Future Standards’ collections, a wider bet captures Gelb’s discordant phrasings and clever romantic lyricism. Joined by a host of collaborators from all over the world, including M. War, Gabriel Naim Amor, Fernando Vacas, Juan Panki, The Lost Brothers, Anna Karina, JB Meijers, Kira Skov and Gelb’s own daughter Talula.

Focussing on Gelb’s celebrated song-writing style, filled with emotive tunes and heart-warming arrangements invariably offset by gorgeous discordant moments. A chance meeting of the indie/alt country Sinatra annotated by clever wordplay, teased by tongue twisters and an earthy ramble. “Gelb’s long-held fascination with words, particularly the way certain ones rub up against one another or encourage an allusive phrase, usually stretched over an odd meter, is a joy.” Uncut… Previous press coverage from Pitchfork, Mojo, Q, Clash, Uncut, NPR and more. 


1 On The Fence
2 A Thousand Kisses Deep Feat. M. Ward
3 Not The End Of The World Feat Anna Karina
4 Anna
5 Give It Up
6 The Open Road
7 Moon River Feat. Talula Gelb
8 Flyin’ Off The Rails
9 Gathered Feat. Pieta Brown
10 All You Need To Know
11 The Park At Dark
12 My Little World
13 Presumptuous Feat. Kira Skov
14 Storyteller
15 Steadfast (CD And Download Card Only) 

Back to top