Various Artists

Pop Ambient 2020

Image of Various Artists - Pop Ambient 2020
Record Label

About this item

20 years of Pop Ambient. Already? One didn’t notice. It’s an anniversary which comes quietly. An anniversary with quiet tones.In the spirit of the special restraint of pop-elegance, it has no reason to drawn attention to itself with a big „Tam-Tam“. Or better: „Bum-Bum“. The bass drum stays outside. Nevertheless, in fast-paced, overstimulated times of moving forward, it’s a joyful occasion to look back.What strikes most by putting or listening to 20 years of pop ambient in a row is the central theme that holds together the dense aesthetic concept like the pearls of a necklace.Floral beauty for digital naturalists. Music like flowers, that don’t wilt. Timeless. Ageless.

But with all of the conceptual unity and resolution, Pop Ambient would not be Kompakt without the break, the friction, the expansion of musical boundaries in between tradition and innovation, in between conspiracy and the openness of the discourse.Aestheticism, escapism, acting in the spirit of „nevertheless“. Swans drifting by, clouds pass over, everything is floating and: „Boredom is a stylistic device“ (Andy Warhol).

Pop Ambient Music is medicine against illnesses, that you don’t even suffer from. It’s giving everything, demanding nothing.Musical lotus leafs, off which the virtual wastewater of our time is rolling like the reality is dripping off the matrix.

In this sense, we’re happy about the pop-ambient anniversary greetings from new and old companions like Thore Pfeiffer, Max Würden, Yui Onodera, Jörg Burger, Thomas Fehlmann, Morgen Wurde, Leandro Fresco aswell as contributions from T.Raumschmiere, Andrew Thomas and, after a long break, from friends from early days like Joachim Spieth, Markus Guentner und Klimek. Breath in. Breath out. Thank you.


01 Thore Pfeiffer – Urquell
02 Max Würden – Diminish
03 Yui Onodera – Cromo 4
04 Joachim Spieth – Meteor
05 T.Raumschmiere – Notre-Dame
06 Klimek – All The Little Horses
07 Morgen Wurde Feat. Maria Estrella – Lässt Los
08 Markus Guentner – Clade
09 Thomas Fehlmann – Liebesperlen
10 Gen Pop – Iron Woman
11 Klimek – Requiem For A Butterfly
12 Leandro Fresco – Brenda
13 Max Würden/Pepo Galan – Stay
14 Leandro Fresco/Thore Pfeiffer – Neo
15 Andrew Thomas – Song 9
16 Andrew Thomas – Sleep Fall

You may also like

Back to top