Search Results for:


Young Marble Giants

Colossal Youth - 40th Anniversary Edition

    Young Marble Giants ‘Colossal Youth: 40th Anniversary Edition’ includes the titular album as well as songs from ‘Salad Days’, ‘Is The War Over?’, the ‘Final Day’ single and their ‘Testcard’ EP, plus a live DVD of their last ever US show at Hurrah in New York in 1980

    Comprised of guitarist-songwriter Stuart Moxham, brother and bassist Philip, and singer Alison Statton, YMG emerged from the punk and post-punk landscape with a sound like no one else. Recorded in five days, Colossal Youth went on to influence whole legions from Sheffield to Seattle, looking to de-grungify gangs of four or more. They found fans in the likes of Kurt Cobain, Courtney Love, Belle & Sebastian, David Byrne, Sonic Youth, The Magnetic Fields. Cited as one of the most definitive records of the post-punk era, there is something almost canonical about the album’s use of voice, muted instruments and space. Colossal Youth’s attention to sparse detail is now a modus operandi for haunted electronica auteurs and spectral singer-songwriters alike, but ultimately, only the Young Marble Giants sound like Young Marble Giants.


    1. Searching For Mr Right
    2. Include Me Out
    3. The Taxi
    4. Eating Noddemix
    5. Constantly Changing
    6. N.I.T.A.
    7. Colossal Youth
    8. Music For Evenings
    9. The Man Amplifier
    10. Choci Loni
    11. Wurlitzer Jukebox
    12. Salad Days
    13. Credit In The Straight World
    14. Brand – New – Life
    15. Wind In The Rigging
    16. Have Your Toupee Ready
    17. The Man Shares His Meal With His Beast
    18. Hayman
    19. Loop The Loop
    20. Ode To Booker T
    21. Final Day
    22. Radio Silents
    23. Cakewalking
    24. This Way
    25. Posed By Models
    26. The Clock
    27. Clicktalk
    28. Zebra Trucks
    29. Sporting Life

    DVD – Live At Hurrah, New York, November 1980:
    Choci Loni
    Radio Silents
    Music For Evenings
    Colossal Youth
    Credit In The Straight World
    Brand – New – Life
    Include Me Out
    Wurlitzer Jukebox
    Final Day
    Salad Days
    Searching For Mr Right

    Latest Pre-Sales

    121 NEW ITEMS

    The Vinyl Adventures independent label market is coming to town on Sunday December 5. Check out these cool, very li…
    Mon 29th - 10:20
    T-minus 1 hour until #BlackFriday @RSDUK stock goes ONLINE. Full details of what's gonna be available here >>>…
    Sat 27th - 7:00
    Great choices here from our very own Barry aka @AptaMusic Have a read and give the playlist a listen 🎧…
    Fri 26th - 6:17
    TONIGHT! Doors at 8pm people. Ticket/vinyl bundle still available 👇 @nightanddaycafe
    Fri 26th - 3:32
    E-newsletter —
    Sign up
    Back to top