Search Results for:


The Pistachio Kid

Sweet Remedies

    The debut record by The Pistachio Kid entitled "Sweet Remedies" features eight songs of incandescent beauty, presenting wonderfully warm and infectious melodies, elegant harmonies and combining these with a collage of musical styles and arrangements. The Pistachio Kid is hailed by critics and audiences as an idiosyncratic, creative musician and songwriter invoking the early work of Randy Newman , Bert Jansch, Van Dyke Parks and The Sherman Brothers. The Pistachio Kid is the new musical project of Charlie McKeon, a talented and multi-instrumental singersongwriter from Liverpool. An urban-Huckleberry Finn character whose music transcends genres, is otherworldly yet melodically familiar and evokes the spirit of endless summers, the exuberance of youth and that belief that everything and anything is possible.

    "I love music that's about playing together, like Jazz or Bluegrass, and I love music that's about composition and beauty, like Debussy. And then I love music that's about an individual personality like Dylan. I love people exploring what they sound like, it's all good." The recordings were written, entirely performed and recorded by Charlie McKeon in his hometown of Liverpool and represent his coming of age as artist. McKeon is a graduate of Leeds College of Music and has become known for his intricate and colourful guitar playing, his unique voice and exquisite songs which balance the perfect ratio of lyrics to guitar. "People try to tailor your creativity before you’ve even done anything, you need to do it all first. The best advice is the opposite of that. John Fahey said ‘Play what you like to play, don’t worry about anyone else’. Imagine Dylan having singing lessons?!" "I wish I had written "Suzanne" by Leonard Cohen or "Happiness Is a Warm Gun" by John Lennon, or "René and Georgette Magritte With Their Dog After The War" by Paul Simon. They’re all very individual and delicate and they move in cool motions."

    Latest Pre-Sales

    131 NEW ITEMS

    Super excited to have an exclusive virtual instore performance coming up for you this Thursday. All will be reveale…
    Wed 12th - 4:36
    Twelve Comets kicks off with a strong statement of intent from Mark Turner acquaintance Tony Neptune. High-tek funk…
    Wed 12th - 10:30
    PRESALE: @dinkededition #66 @lukeabbottmusic 'Translate' • Audiophile-friendly double crystal clear vinyl. • 15cm…
    Wed 12th - 10:00
    Who’s ready for another @dinkededition announcement today?! Check back in at 11am today and all will be revealed.…
    Wed 12th - 7:36
    Wise words from @fontainesdublin on their promotional posters left at the front of the shop.…
    Wed 12th - 7:28
    E-newsletter —
    Sign up
    Back to top