Search Results for:


Son Volt

Day Of The Doug

    Son Volt’s latest record, Day of the Doug, revisits the music of legendary Texas troubadour Doug Sahm. But it’s much more than fond remembrance and colorful tribute. It is a summoning and a celebration of a songwriter and performer whose work forged country, Tex-Mex, rock, rhythm and blues, folk, and psychedelia into an utterly unique American sound. Sahm’s 50-year career was a restless and relentless quest for the Holy Grail of “the groove.” He played pedal steel with Hank Williams, Sr. as a kid before making three Top 40 hits with the Sir Douglas Quintet and recording a dizzying array of solo works with a passel of shifting personas on a carousel of record labels. Son Volt’s eleventh release since 1995’s Trace steps confidently on the trails Sahm blazed. Like any journey to find a grail, Day of the Doug also seeks out all the things that make young artists fall in love with making music in the first place: adventure, youth novelty, and a chance to snatch a bit of immortality.


    1. Doug Intro
    2. Sometimes You’ve Got To Stop Chasing Rainbows
    3. What About Tomorrow
    4. Beautiful Texas Sunshine
    5. Float Away
    6. Yesterday Got In The Way
    7. Keep Your Soul
    8. Dynamite Woman
    9. Huggin Thin Air
    10. Juan Mendoza
    11. Poison Love
    12. Seguin
    13. It’s Gonna Be Easy
    14. Doug Outro

    Son Volt

    Electro Melodier

      IT’S A NEW WORLD, THIS IS THE LIFE/THESE ARE THE TIMES 2020 was not quite what Jay Farrar was expecting for the 25th anniversary of Son Volt, the band he started in 1995 after leaving the seminal group Uncle Tupelo, whose No Depression album helped define the alt-country and Americana genre. The group had just finished an Outlaw Country Cruise when the pandemic hit and sent them into their homes on lockdown. Instead of a triumphant tour marking the illustrious landmark, Farrar was forced indoors by the pandemic, and his “Reverie” during that time helped define Electro Melodier, Son Volt’s 10th studio album – and third for influential Nashville indie Thirty Tigers. 


      1. Reverie
      2. Arkey Blue
      3. The Globe
      4. Diamonds And Cigarettes
      5. Lucky Ones
      6. War On Misery
      7. Living In The USA
      8. Someday Is Now
      9. Sweet Refrain
      10. The Levee On Down
      11. These Are The Times
      12. Rebetika
      13. The Globe / Prelude
      14. Like You

      Son Volt


        Led by vocalist, guitarist, and songwriter Jay Farrar, Son Volt became one of the leading bands in the alternative country community, attracting critical praise and an audience that was loyal if not always large. Farrar has collaborated with Ben Gibbard (Death Cab for Cutie), Steven Drozd (The Flaming Lips), Jeff Tweedy (Wilco) and several other well respected artists / musicians. Union is the bands 10th studio album and mixes present and past into strong confluence.The thirteen new songs written by Farrar confront our turbulent politics and articulate the clarity and comfort music can offer in the tumult. 


        1. While Rome Burns
        2. The 99
        3. Devil May Care
        4. Broadsides
        5. Reality Winner
        6. Union
        7. The Reason
        8. Lady Liberty
        9. Holding Your Own
        10. Truth To Power Blues
        11. Rebel Girl
        12. Slow Burn
        13. The Symb

        Latest Pre-Sales

        154 NEW ITEMS

        E-newsletter —
        Sign up
        Back to top