Search Results for:




    trip9love…??? is the third album from Tirzah, produced by long-time musical collaborator Mica Levi. It is out today to stream in full with a physical release set for November 17th.

    Stream trip9love…??? here.

    It was written and recorded at both their homes and various corners of South East London and Kent.

    After several recording sessions over roughly a year, eventually the music suddenly came into a sound that they wanted to follow. The tracks were built using piano loops on top of one beat, distortion added, then romantic vocal toplines. Poems centre on themes of love, both real and imagined. The world the record finds space in is a lazy club fantasy zone.

    The speed, the connection and similarity between all of the instrumentals led the record to feel like one song, a diary entry of a moment or a fascination with one sound that they felt was important to go with. The nature of trip9love…???‘s release reflects how it was made.

    Tirzah has confirmed several UK shows beginning next week including London’s Colour Factory as well as dates in Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Reeperbahn Festival and Unsound before she heads to North America at the start of October.


    Barry says: Trip9Love sees Tirzah's effortless mixing of myriad styles and grooves realised by Mica Levi, resulting in a mindblowing cross-pollination of club ready grooves and off-kilter fractured electronica. A heady and deeply hypnotic journey.


    1. F22
    2. Promises
    3. U All The Time
    4. Their Love
    5. No Limit
    6. Today
    7. Stars
    8. He Made
    9. 2 D I C U V
    10. 6 Phrazes
    11. Nightmare

    Tirzah releases "Highgrade". A full reworking of the ten tracks on her acclaimed second album "Colourgrade". Containing remixes from the likes of Arca, Actress, Lafawndah, Loraine James and Speakers Corner Quartet. Moving through orchestral jazz, deconstructed r'n'b and minimal electronica, "Highgrade", like all Tirzah’s music is not easily definable by genre, and all the better for it.

    Personal favourites include the mutant jazz delivered by Speakers Corner Quartet's remix of "Hive Mind" (check the cello work especially!) and the reversed psychedelic lullaby of "Sleeping", remixed here by Anja Ngozi. Actress' twist on "Sink In" is also worth of a special mention - the moody downtechno wizard imbuing the track with a kind of glowing-through-the-drizzle aesthetic that's perfect for half-falling asleep on long, inner city bus journeys.

    Tirzah says on Highgrade: 'The pieces can live another life and come together as a collection of hybrids. So very grateful to all the artists. Thanking them all for the music.'


    SIDE A:
    1 Hive Mind (Speakers Corner Quartet Remix) 
    2 Crepuscular Rays (Lafawndah Remix) 
    3 Sleeping (Anja Ngozi Remix) 
    SIDE B:
    4 Colourgrade (Arca Vortex Remix) 
    5 Tectonic (Fauzia Remix) 
    SIDE C:
    6 Sink In (Actress Remix) 
    7 Hips (Loraine James Remix) 
    SIDE D:
    8 Recipe (Wu-lu Remix) 
    9 '22222 ('Send Me' Rework)' (Still House Plants) 
    10 Beating (Tone Remix) 

    “Colourgrade” is the latest album from Tirzah, the British-based avant garde performer who has recently been signed to Domino following some well received 12”s on Greco-Roman.

    The album explores recovery, gratitude and new beginnings, presenting a singer having discovered the type of love that is shared between a mother and a child for the first time, whilst simultaneously working as an artist. Capturing both the great and the scary, the exhaustion and the recovery, Colourgrade is a listless amble through the innermost feelings, an intoxicating presentation of a full time mother and artist.

    As always, a Tirzah record is a family affair. That doesn’t just mean grandmum and granddad, but the extended CURL crew that includes long term collaborators, Mica Levi and Coby Sey, the younger brother of producer Kwes who mixes on “Colourgrade.” It’s this natural, collaborative energy that keeps Tirzah’s music fresh and progressive.

    If you’re into Bjork, FKA Twigs, James Ferraro, Portishead or Anika; this might be up your street. It’s a pretty varied list I appreciate, but the kind of DIY use of electronics, the lo-fi production and the dreamy aesthetic lend itself to the aforementioned acts. Check it out, there’s nowt much like it on the market at the moment! 


    Barry says: Tirzah's brilliant Colourgrade follows on from the Mica Levi produced 'Devotion' and continues the impressive skewed-pop footprint, but with developments in production style and pure danceability. It's a brilliantly unique sound, fusing R&B, jazz and pop music into one brilliantly wonky, hugely enjoyable end result.


    Hive Mind (feat. Coby Sey)
    Crepuscular Rays
    Send Me
    Sink In



      Following her acclaimed EPs released on Greco-Roman, new album Devotion positions Londonbased Tirzah as a unique contemporary soul voice on an innovative modern British RnB record. Delivering what feels like a landmark debut LP, the 11-songs across Devotion are an intimate collection of downtempo love-songs laced with romance and lust, melancholy and desire.

      The album was conceived and written with long-term collaborator, Mica Levi who handles the music and production across the whole album, Tirzah providing vocals, melody & lyrics. Additional vocals & lyrics are provided by Coby Sey on stand out track, ‘Devotion’. The album was mixed by Mica & Kwes.


      1. Fine Again
      2. Do You Know
      3. Gladly
      4. Holding On
      5. Affection
      6. Basic Need
      7. Guilty
      8. Devotion
      9. Go Now
      10. Say When
      11. Reach

      Latest Pre-Sales

      103 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top