Search Results for:


The Raveonettes

Whip It On / Chain Gang Of Love - 2022 Reissue

    Twenty years ago, The Raveonettes made their debut with Whip It On, the first part of a twin mini-album release. The original CD-version featured an ad for the accompanying second offering called Chain Gang of Love, due later that same year.

    The first mini-album was 8, three-chord songs in Bb Minor and the second was supposed to feature 8 other songs in Bb major. That never happened. But it's happening NOW. On side 2 of the 20th anniversary vinyl edition of Whip It On, we proudly release Chain Gang of Love - The OG as it was originally intended. Enjoy!

    The culmination of twelve monthly 2016 singles from the acclaimed Danish duo. The Raveonettes have completed their RAVE-SOUND-OF-THE-MONTH which began at the start of 2016 where the band would upload a freshly recorded track on the last Friday of every month throughout the year. The 'anti-album' features a collection of new tracks that aren't bound by the constraints of the format. (2014 album Pe'ahi reached #5 on Billboard's "Heatseekers" and received praise from Mojo, NME, Boston Globe. They've issued seven albums since 2003, via Columbia, Vice, and their own Beat Dies imprint, all charting Top 20 in Denmark.)


    Barry says: As far as following the standard 'Record 12 tracks, master 12 tracks, release 12 tracks' format goes, the Raveonettes have failed miserably. Having recorded and released one of these tracks every month over 2016. As far as creating an exciting and dynamic collection of tracks go however, they have smashed it. Synthy grooves, melodic choruses and intricate breakdowns and the ever-beautiful interwoven vocals of Wagner and Foo.


    1. This World Is Empty (Without You)
    2. Run Mascara Run
    3. EXCUSES
    4. Junko Ozawa
    5. Scout
    6. Won't You Leave Me Alone
    7. Where Are You Wild Horses
    8. A Good Fight
    9. This Is Where It Ends
    10. Choke On Love
    11. Fast Food
    12. PENDEJO

    The Raveonettes


      Pe_ahi (/pe____hi_/ pay-ah-hee; is a place on the north shore of the island of Maui in the US state of Hawaii. It has lent its name to a big wave surfing break, also known as Jaws. During off season the spot is taken over by meth fuelled crazies and people are advised to not venture out there.

      Immersed in the surf-history of Southern California, where both Sharin and Sune reside, the album incorporates various elements from this culture into every song both lyrically and musically. The result is their most complex, intricate and autobiographical work to date.

      The Raveonettes

      Chain Gang Of Love - 180g Vinyl Edition

      'Chain Gang Of Love', originally released in August 2003, is The Raveonettes' first full length album after they debuted with the critically acclaimed 'Whip It On' mini album in 2002.

      Their sound has often been compared with that of the noisy and distorted Jesus And Mary Chain, while the Velvet Underground and even the vocal harmonies of the Everly Brothers are never far away either. The most noticeable difference in sound between the debut EP, which had all songs in B-flat minor, and this album is that here all songs are in B-flat major. The result is an album drenched in an uplifting fifties and sixties sound.

      Because of this wall of sound you might expect a Phil Spector production, but Sune Rose Wagner himself (one half of the Danish duo which is The Raveonettes) and Richard Gottehrer (producer for a.o. Blondie and The Go-Go's, and founder of Sire Records) were responsible for this remarkable and uplifting release.


      A1 Remember (2:50)
      A2 That Great Love Sound (3:21)
      A3 Noisy Summer (2:29)
      A4 The Love Gang (2:20)
      A5 Let's Rave On (2:00)
      A6 Dirty Eyes (Sex Don't Sell) (2:31)
      A7 Love Can Destroy Everything (2:57)

      B1 Heartbreak Stroll (2:34)
      B2 Little Animal (3:16)
      B3 Untamed Girls (1:50)
      B4 Chain Gang Of Love (2:44)
      B5 The Truth About Johnny (2:40)
      B6 New York Was Great (2:53)

      Latest Pre-Sales

      182 NEW ITEMS

      🔵 BLUE MONDAY 🔵 Coil - ‘Queens Of The Circulating Library’ reissue out now via @daisrecords
      Mon 30th - 5:48
      Tom Verlaine 1949 - 2023. Thank you for the music.
      Sat 28th - 10:48
      After doing a shop window take over back in Nov with empty sleeves. The vinyl is finally here 🙌 Léna C - Promenade…
      Fri 27th - 4:24
      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top