Search Results for:


Rudy De Anda

Closet Botanist

    For Fans Of... Adrian Quesada, Black Pumas, Chicano Batman, Brainstory, Drugdealer, Sugar Candy Mountain.

    The sophomore album from Rudy De Anda, and a prolific follow up to 2020's 'Tender Epoch'. Produced by Adrian Quesada of the Black Pumas. Recorded in Austin, Texas at Electric Deluxe Recorders. LPs include digital download card. In 2020, Rudy De Anda moved his homebase out of California for the first time. He was headed East. Somewhere in the back of the U-Haul, among the boxes and baggage, was a mostly finished record. Upon arriving in Chicago, Rudy quickly found the final pieces of his new LP, Closet Botanist. The Electric Deluxe recording studio is owned and operated by Adrian Quesada (Black Pumas), who helped produce and engineer Rudy’s new LP.

    “In the past, I’ve done most of my recording in California,” Rudy explained. “The new location changed the vibe. The band and I were 100% focused on the process.” Rudy’s previous releases have grown synonymous with California sunshine. He was born in Los Angeles and spent most of his formative years in Long Beach. “People often tell me my music reminds them of the beach and the sun,” Rudy said of his older songs. Closet Botanist isn’t a total departure from Rudy’s beachy, psych-rock roots, but it does sound more mature. Rudy points to The Velvet Underground and The Kinks for direct inspiration. “I glorify those bands I’m a 60s psych-rocker at heart.” For the seasoned listener, there’s a trail of psychedelic breadcrumbs to find throughout the track list. Rudy dedicates the album to those who love so hard that they neglect to water their own garden. Even in a much colder climate, the closet botanist continues to grow. 


    1. In My Shoes
    2. Hey Mr. Sun
    3. June Gloom (Smilin')
    4. Miel
    5. Tu Mirada
    6. WYD
    7. Por Ti
    8. Coronado / Where Are You Baby
    9. The Murder Mystery Pt. 2
    10. I Can't Change You

    Rudy De Anda

    Tender Epoch

      FFO: Chicano Batman, Brainstory, Drugdealer, Sugar Candy Mountain.

      Conceived in the 1980s in Mexico and brought to California through the border inside of his 6-month-pregnant mother, Rudy de Anda's debut solo record is a love letter to the long historical lineage of rock 'n roll music as interpreted through his multicultural lens. "I write my own story, I don't want to be defined by any scene" de Anda proclaims of his personal journey, and his ability to adapt and flit between cities and cultures is part of why L.A. Record has called his sound "deliberately difficult to classify, familiar but novel at the same time." Since 2005, De Anda has played thousands of shows in various musical projects, but with 'Tender Epoch', tellingly the first recorded under his own name, he has clearly found his own voice with a wealth of stories to spotlight. It's exquisitely crafted pop, with universal messages of heartbreak and loss that still feel appropriate played speeding windows-down on the highway in the coastal sunshine.

      Above all, De Anda likes to keep people guessing: from the album artwork to the multi-faceted textures of sound, 'Tender Epoch' feels ambiguous to any era, a perfect collusion of old and new that showcases a music historian's knowledge of both past greats and influential peers. Sculpting his own path through a wild ride that feels unlikely to let up, De Anda refuses to settle down or get comfortable, instead carving out a classic record that is sure to set a standard for songwriting to come. The whole Colemine and Karma Chief family is proud to welcome Rudy De Anda and to present Tender Epoch.


      1. The Mirror
      2. Los Canarios
      3. Me Revulco En Tus Arenas
      4. Tender Epoch
      5. Espume
      6. Cariño
      7. It Didn’t Have To Happen
      8. Helado
      9. Tres Boletos
      10. No Me Cruces
      11. Cavallet Del Mar
      12. I’m Still At The Bar
      13. Abrasive

      Latest Pre-Sales

      157 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top