Search Results for:


Richard Ashcroft

These People - 2024 Repress

    Richard Ashcroft’s fourth solo album ‘These People’ became a fan-favourite in 2016, receiving great reviews and becoming a #3 album in the Official UK Albums Chart.

    His reunion with Wil Malone, who had previously worked on the string arrangements for The Verve's seminal albums 'A Northern Soul' and 'Urban Hymns' added depth and emotional resonance to the album's sound. Ashcroft demonstrated his continued relevance and creative prowess as a solo artist, reaffirming his status as one of Britain's most enduring and influential musicians.


    1. Out Of My Body
    2. This Is How It Feels
    3. They Don’t Own Me
    4. Hold On
    5. These People
    6. Everybody Needs Somebody To Hurt
    7. Picture Of You
    8. Black Lines
    9. Ain’t The Future So Bright
    10. Songs Of Experience

    As the frontman for the epic British drone-pop band The Verve, Richard Ashcroft proved himself the spiritual descendant of rock & roll icons like Mick Jagger and Jim Morrison - rivetingly charismatic, menacingly serpentine, and possessed of an almost shamanic intensity, he embraced and articulated the anthemic fervor of rock music with a power and eloquence unparalleled by any of his contemporaries.

    Featuring ten new songs, all of which were written by Ashcroft, ‘Natural Rebel’ was produced by the singer-songwriter alongside Jon Kelly (Paul McCartney, Kate Bush) and Emre Ramazanoglu, Bobby Gillespie). The majority of its recording took place at State of the Ark Studios in Richmond, with further sessions at The Bunker, Tileyard Studios and Hoxa HQ.


    1. All My Dreams
    2. Birds Fly
    3. Surprised By The Joy
    4. That's How Strong
    5. Born To Be Strangers
    6. That's When I Feel It
    7. We All Bleed
    8. A Man In Motion
    9. Streets Of Amsterdam
    10. Money Money

    Richard Ashcroft

    These People

      Richard Ashcroft returns in 2016 with his fourth solo album entitled ‘These People’ released on his Righteous Phonographic Association label via Cooking Vinyl Records on 20th May.

      The previous Brit and Ivor Novello award winner (and Grammy nominated) artist made a handful of solo live appearances at the end of 2015, playing a performance at Zermatt Unplugged in Zurich in October and an incredible solo acoustic set in front of 30,000 people at Mexico's Corona Capital Festival in November (see below), live dates for 2016 will be announced shortly.

      The album was recorded in London and produced by Ashcroft and longtime collaborator Chris Potter. It marks a reunion with Wil Malone, who worked with Ashcroft on the string arrangements on the seminal albums by The Verve ‘A Northern Soul’ and ‘Urban Hymns’. 

      Richard Ashcroft Is Alive: The Verve Man's Thrilling Resurrection At Mexico's Corona Capital Festival – NME.
      ‘Who else here has got the bollocks to stand up on this stage, on their own, with their own tunes and their own guitar and play it from the soul?" NME.


      Andy says: Lead single "This is How it Feels" typifies this lush return to form for Richard. Hooked up again with both the producer and strings conductor of Urban Hymns, this album has the depth and most importantly tunes that he used to knock out for fun all those years ago.

      Latest Pre-Sales

      158 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top