Search Results for:



Teddy Boy

    Kavinsky (1968 - 1986)

    Rest in peace.

    Kavinsky died in 1986 in a car accident, at the wheel of his Testarossa. He reappeared in the skin of a zombie in 2005, for the release of his first EP " Teddy boy " on Record Makers.

    Teddy Boy marks the entry of Kavinsky on the French electronic stage. "Testarossa Autodrive" makes the unanimity and forges the artistic print of the artist, Mr Oizo / Quentin Dupieux will make a remix. It follows this EP which Kavinsky will enter into the "French Touch" and will begin to be known, in particular with the amateurs of the worlds.


    A1. Testarossa Autodrive
    A2. Mr Oizo Autodrive T42
    A3. Transistor
    B1. The Crash
    B2. Testarossa Nightdrive
    B3. Arpanet Nightdrive Rework
    B4. Ghost Transistor

    Fourteen years on from its 2003 release, and ten years on from its first vinyl release, Sebastien Tellier's "Narco OST" gets another run on the black stuff courtesy of Record Makers. Now, while the rest of his ouevre has seen the bearded genius dabble with tropicalia, indulge in lo-fi cabaret, espouse messianic disco and put a synth-y spin on Gainsbourg's sex pop, "Narco" is a straightforward collection of stunning instrumental passages, lazy funk, soaring strings and piano. Tied together by a recurring motif and consistent sound palette, it is a strikingly coherent effort from a man known for wild changes of direction.
    But that entire preamble is made largely irrelevant by the following information - the last track on Side B is none other than "La Ritournelle", one of the finest songs ever written and Tellier's crowning glory. If you don't know it, you're in for a life changing treat. Jazzy drums, sublime piano and gorgeous, heart melting strings dance around a core motif for three and a half minutes before Seb dives in with a stunning vocal and takes us home. Bittersweet pop perfection and the perfect end of night record, it's worth the entry fee on its own!


    A1 La Ballade Du Georges
    A2 Le Démon Pupkin
    A3 Le Château Pupkin
    A4 Le Beguin Begins
    A5 Le Long De La Rivière Tendre
    A6 Dixi
    A7 Pam! Exit La Folle
    B1 Georges Thibault Rouhergues
    B2 Rien De Rien Par Pupkin
    B3 Gus Gracie
    B4 Un Narco En Été
    B5 Pupkin Et Ses Démons
    B6 La Ritournelle

    Sebastien Tellier

    L'Incroyable Verite


      12” - 1x 12" 180 Gr, Glossy lacquered sleeve 380 Gr / black printed inner sleeve / Mp3 download card inside

      « L’Incroyable Vérité » is the first album of Sébastien Tellier. His previous discographic publications consist of a participation in the Source Rocks compilation, in 1998, with «Fantino» (used in Sofia Coppola's Lost In Translation film), which was noticed by the magazine Rolling Stone («(…) one of the loneliest sounds you will hear this year», December 1998).

      The album was recorded between September 1999 and March 2000.

      Sébastien plays most of the instruments and produced his album himself. It was mixed by Quentin Dupieux (aka Mr Oizo) and

      Sebastien Tellier in July 2000 with the help of Guillaume Lebraz.

      Sébastien and Mathieu Tonetti wrote the lyrics to the songs.

      «L’Incroyable Vérité» is an album about life. You can hear a dog singing, a woman screaming, and legs growing.

      Sébastien Tellier recommends that you listen to his album alone by candle-light.


      A1. Oh Malheur Chez O’Malley
      A2. Kazoo III
      A3. Universe
      A4. L’Enfance D’Un Chien
      A5. Une Vie De Papa
      A6. Fin Chien
      B1. Grec
      B2. Kissed By You
      B3. Fantino
      B4. Trilogie Femme
      B5. Black Douleur

      Inspired by the first wave of French house producers, Acid Washed bring us their own take on the ballroom-influence sound with this synth-heavy, arpeggios-set-to-stun electronic disco-house long player for Record Makers. Recorded after going twice around the world, ‘House of Melancholy’ is the soundtrack to Andrew Claristidge and Richard d’Alpert’s recent lives, and one that brings them right back home to France. ‘House of Melancholy’ gives pride of place to strong emotions and melodies. Without ever getting to the shores of electro-pop, the duo puts a little more of real, heavy pop, of 70s Italian variety, of Morricone or Philip Glass soundtracks, and very pure electronics in their dance music. Andrew and Richard surrounded themselves with friends in the recording of this LP: the exceptionally gifted Joakim at the production board, the stentorian Yan Wagner, the too rare Miss Kittin, the swagest Ahmad Larnes behind the mic, the geek comrades Hypnolove, Turzi or La Mverte playing around with keyboards and compressors… ‘House Of Melancholy’ brings the immediate beauty of synthesizers and pure arpeggios curled up around the organic beats spiraling to infinity. ‘House of Melancholy’ is a party, an ode to music which unites body and soul. Acid Washed welcome you to the party.


      1. Heartbeat Maker
      2. Fire N’ Rain
      3. Golem’s Dance
      4. Prince Acid
      5. For Your Eyes Only
      6. Gasoline
      7. Hello Universe
      8. Celestial Choirs Of Barbès
      9. Nautilus
      10. House Of Melancholy

      Latest Pre-Sales

      241 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top