Search Results for:


The Beloved


    Happiness was recorded from late 1988 to summer 1989, influenced by the band's immersion in the nascent UK Acid House scene. Originally a four-piece guitar/synth band, The Beloved MK1 parted ways late 1987 and founder members Jon Marsh and Steve Waddington were newly liberated by their electronic, machine-driven rhythm section. The perfect synchronicity of the Balearic stylings of the underground clubs and exposure to early Chicago House corresponded with a burst in songwriting and sonic adventure. The result: Happiness!

    Recorded mostly with producer Martyn Phillips (who subsequently worked with Erasure, Jesus Jones, & Londonbeat) the band created a hybrid of British electronic pop music, US club beats, euphoric mood and consistently optimistic and uplifting lyrics. 

    'Happiness' has been remastered from the original analogue studio masters (by John Davis at Metropolis Studios) and has a significantly louder and clearer audio than the original release. The reissue includes new sleeve notes written by the band themselves.


    2xLP Info: Remastered 180 gram double heavyweight vinyl.

    2xCD Info: 2CD edition also includes 'The Wolf Studio Recordings', a 15-track bonus disc of 'Happiness' demos, B-sides, remixes and four previously unreleased songs recorded at Wolf Studios in Brixton between 1988 – 1990.

    Kris Menace is a producer whose tracks stay on the right side of the cheese divide. This is proper uplifting, dare I say, anthemic, main room electrohouse that quite happily sits alongside cuts by Fred Falke, Lifelike or Alan Braxe. This trio all guest on the album as well, along with the likes of original progressive house don Spooky and Felix Da Housecat.

    Disc 1
    01. Discopolis (Feat. Lifelike)
    02. Fairlight Pt.1 & Pt.2 (Feat. Fred Falke)
    03. Jupiter
    04. Lumberjack (Feat. Alan Braxe)
    05. Artificial (Feat. Felix Da Housecat)
    06. Stereophonic (Feat. Spooky)
    07. Voyage
    08. Metropolis
    09. Invaders (Feat. Hexstatic)
    10. Idiosyncrasy
    11. Steamroller
    12. Snapshot
    13. Scaler

    Disc 2
    01. Sensuality
    02. Micropacer
    03. Borderline
    04. Affinity
    05. Poesie
    06. Lightning
    07. Challenger (Feat. Douze)
    08. Midnight
    09. Dreamsequence
    10. Enamoured (Feat. Fred Falke)
    11. Cybernatic
    12. Vanity
    13. Electricity (Feat. Fred Falke)

    Disc 3
    01. LCD Soundsystem – North American Scum (Kris Menace Remix)
    02. Tracey Thorn – It's All True (Kris Menace Remix)
    03. Roisin Murphy – Overpowered (Kris Menace Remix)
    04. Air – Mer Du Japon (Kris Menace Remix)
    05. Winona – Without You (Kris Menace Remix)
    06. The Presets – My People (Kris Menace Remix)
    07. Robbie Williams – She's Madonna (Kris Menace Remix)
    08. Felix Da Housecat – Something 4 Porno (Kris Menace Remix)
    09. Metronomy – Heartbreaker (Kris Menace Remix)
    10. Moby – Oh Yeah (Kris Menace Remix)
    11. Underworld – Ring Road (Kris Menace Remix)


    3xCD Info: Triple CD includes bonus disc of Kris Menace remixes of LCD Soundsystem, Roisin Murphy, Air, Metronomy, Underworld and more.

    Legendary UK club night Bugged Out! follow up the success of the Simian Mobile Disco mix and "Suck My Deck" sessions with their first but long overdue Classics package. Bringing together a selection of massive alternative dancefloor anthems from the likes of The Chemical Brothers, LCD Soundsystem, Daft Punk and Soulwax, via underground classics from the likes of Slam, Claude Von Stroke, Miss Kittin and Gabriel Ananda, right through to bang up to date newbies such as Justice, Simian Mobile Disco, Mylo and Digitalism. Add to this some big dance remixes of bands like Franz Ferdinand and The Rapture and you've got an instant history of the current indie-meets-dance scene. From French disco house to techno to electro this album has got the lot. Presented over three CDs and 45 tracks "Bugged Out! Classics" features all unmixed cuts so is not only a great buy for DJs, but is also sequenced perfectly for home, car, beach or festival tent listening.

    Just In

    83 NEW ITEMS

    Latest Pre-Sales

    123 NEW ITEMS

    💖 Looking great 👌 Thanks for sharing 🙌
    Sat 19th - 9:32
    Tim Koh - ‘In Your Dreams’ out today via @ogenesisrecords the @dinkededition is 👌 • Exclusive mulberry coloured vi…
    Fri 18th - 3:31
    Some great records out today from @runjewels @DavidBowieReal Tim Koh aka @lamaraba Osees aka @TheeOhSees
    Fri 18th - 2:40
    .@DavidBowieReal Young Americans (2016 remaster) 45th anniversary limited edition gold vinyl available instore ONLY…
    Fri 18th - 1:57
    This months Record Store Day is next Saturday September 26 at 6pm and online only. Follow the link for all the in…
    Fri 18th - 1:43
    E-newsletter —
    Sign up
    Back to top