Search Results for:


Miriam Makeba

Keep Me In Mind

    Miriam Makeba’s ‘Keep Me In Mind’ was her last album for Reprise and reflected major changes in both her own personal life and politically within the USA. After becoming a national star globally following the success of ‘Pata Pata’ in 1967, she had fallen out publicly with her mentor and ‘Big Brother’, Harry Belafonte. Makeba made the decision to return to Africa following an invitation from President Sékou Touré of Guinea. In Conakry, Makeba met Stokely Carmichael, President of civil rights organisation the SNCC and they would later marry. “With the Vietnam War, the student protests and the riots in the ghettos, everyone is scared,” Makeba said. “Everyone is afraid that there will be a great black uprising.” Makeba’s concerts were widely cancelled and both her and Carmichael were followed relentlessly by the FBI.

    Reprise also terminated her contract but brought in producer Lewis Merenstein for her final recording for the label, best known for his work with Van Morrison on ‘Astral Weeks’. Merenstein suggested two Van songs for Makeba to cover, ‘Brand New Day’ from the ‘Moondance’ sessions and ‘I Shall Sing’ and further songs were added to reflect both the political climate and Makeba’s own memories including Stephen Stills’ ‘For What It’s Worth’ and Lennon & McCartney’s wistful ‘In My Life’. New compositions by Makeba and her daughter Bongi included ‘Lumumba’, a personal tribute to Congolese independence leader, Patrice Lumumba. Reflective of the times, the album is infused with a palpable despair but, as in all of her music, a quiet determination still shines through.

    This new reissue of ‘Keep Me In Mind’ is presented in its original artwork and features rare photos and new extensive liner notes by Francis Gooding of The Wire. Remastered from the original tapes by The Carvery.


    A1. Lumumba 2.46
    A2. For What It’s Worth 2.45
    A3. Brand New Day 3.17
    A4. I Shall Sing 3.06
    A5. Kulala 2.37
    B1. In My Life 3.08
    B2. Down On The Corner 2.32
    B3. Ibande 2.17
    B4. Measure The Valleys 3.33
    B5. Tululu 2.11

    Miriam Makeba

    Pata Pata

      Strut presents an all-time classic of South African music, the definitive remastered edition of Miriam Makeba’s ‘PataPata’, her first album recorded for Reprise in 1966. The album marked a significant international breakthrough for Makeba.

      Moving to the US after the anti-apartheid film ‘Come Back, Africa’ gained international attention and staying there in exile, she quickly built her career in New York during the ‘60s, mentored by Harry Belafonte. Signing with Reprise after a period with RCA, she returned to one of her older songs: “I wrote ‘PataPata’ back in 1956, back in South Africa,” remembered Makeba in her autobiography. “It was a fun little song and I was thinking of a dance that we do at home (“pata” means ‘touch” in Zulu and Xhosa).”

      Originally a hit in South Africa with her early vocal harmony group the Skylarks, the new recording, produced by Jerry Ragovoy, brought a lighter uptempoR’nB arrangement, adding some English lyrics. “It was my first truly big seller. All of a sudden, people who never knew I had been in America since 1959 were asking me to be on their television shows and play at their concert halls during 1967. In the discotheques, they invented a new dance called the ‘PataPata’ where couples dance apart and then reach out and touch each other. I went to Argentina for a concert and, across South America, they are singing my song.”


      A1. PataPata (Mono Version)
      A2. Ha Po Zamani (Mono Version)
      A3. What Is Love (Mono Version)
      A4. Maria Fulo (Mono Version)
      A5. YetentuTizaleny (Mono Version)
      A6. Click Song Number One (Mono Version)
      B1. Ring Bell, Ring Bell (Mono Version)
      B2. Jol’Inkomo (Mono Version)
      B3. West Wind (Mono Version)
      B4. Saduva (Mono Version)
      B5. A Piece Of Ground (Mono Version)
      C1. PataPata (Stereo Version)
      C2. Ha Po Zamani (Stereo Version)
      C3. What Is Love (Stereo Version)
      C4. Maria Fulo (Stereo Version)
      C5. YetentuTizaleny (Stereo Version)
      C6. Click Song Number One (Stereo Version)
      D1. Ring Bell, Ring Bell (Stereo Version)
      D2. Jol’Inkomo (Stereo Version)
      D3. West Wind (Stereo Version)
      D4. Saduva (Stereo Version)
      D5. A Piece Of Ground (Stereo Version)

      Latest Pre-Sales

      205 NEW ITEMS

      Thanks @Day_Saving_Recs The stunning @SLUG_MrIBlack Dinked Edition is still available to order, snap one up here…
      Fri 23rd - 1:50
      We just got a handful more of the @dinkededition to sell on pre-order: Be quick though fol…
      Fri 23rd - 9:50
      Weekly New Release Mailout Tim Burgess, Beth Orton, FKA Twigs, Vieux Farka Toure & Khrua…
      Thu 22nd - 5:04
      PRESALE: @dinkededition 224 @MurderCapital_ 'Gigi's Recovery' • Exclusive clear vinyl. • Exclusive signed & numbe…
      Thu 22nd - 4:30
      Thu 22nd - 4:18
      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top