Search Results for:


Lady Blackbird

Black Acid Soul (Deluxe Edition)

    Set for release on 28th October, the deluxe edition of Lady Blackbird’s debut album ‘Black Acid Soul’ comes with a staggering 11 additional songs, encompassing brand new material such as stunning single ‘Feel It Comin’ and remixes commissioned by the likes of electronic, jazz, funk luminaries Emma-Jean Thackray, Colleen 'Cosmo' Murphy and Greg Foat.

    Originally released in 2021, ‘Black Acid Soul’ received enormous critical acclaim; The Sunday Times named her their Breaking Act, stating that she “brings a singing voice of extraordinary nuance and immaculate phrasing to a selection of covers/reworkings and pindrop originals” in a 4* review. The Guardian awarded the album a 5* review, remarking that Blackbird “finds her calling with an extraordinary collection of songs and performances that burn deep into you”.


    CD Tracklist:
    CD 1
    1. Blackbird
    2. It's Not That Easy
    3. Fix It
    4. Ruler Of My Heart
    5. Nobody’s Sweetheart
    6. Collage
    7. Five Feet Tall
    8. Lost And Looking
    9. It’ll Never Happen Again
    10. Beware The Stranger
    11. Black Acid Soul
    CD 2
    1. Did Somebody Make A Fool Out Of You
    2. I Am What I Am
    3. Woman (Single Version)
    4. Feel It Comin (Single Version)
    5. Baby I Just Don't
    6. Beware The Stranger (Chris Seefried Remix) (Edit)
    7. Collage (Greg Foat Remix)
    8. Blackbird (Emma-Jean Thackray Remix)
    9. Lost And Looking (Colleen 'Cosmo' Murphy Cosmodelica Remix)
    10. Collage (Bruise Remix) (Edit)
    11. Beware The Stranger (Gil Cang Tuff Scout Remix)

    LP Tracklist:
    SIDE A
    1. Blackbird
    2. It's Not That Easy
    3. Fix It
    4. Ruler Of My Heart
    5. Nobody’s Sweetheart
    SIDE B
    1. Collage
    2. Five Feet Tall
    3. Lost And Looking
    4. It’ll Never Happen Again
    5. Beware The Stranger
    6. Black Acid Soul
    SIDE C
    1. Did Somebody Make A Fool Out Of You
    2. I Am What I Am
    3. Woman
    4. Feel It Comin
    5. Baby I Just Don't
    SIDE D
    1. Beware The Stranger (Chris Seefried Remix)
    2. Collage (Greg Foat Remix)
    3. Blackbird (Emma-Jean Thackray Remix)
    4. Lost And Looking (Colleen 'Cosmo' Murphy Cosmodelica Remix)
    5. Collage (Bruise Remix)

    Once in a blue moon a singer comes along that stops you in your tracks, Lady Blackbird is one such talent. Dubbed by Gilles Peterson “the Grace Jones of jazz”, her album Black Acid Soul dropped in September 2021 to glowing reviews across the board from the likes of The Guardian and New York Times.

    One of the standout tracks ‘Lost and Looking’ - a cover of Sam Cooke’s sparsely arranged original, where Lady Blackbird builds the track with her haunting vocal and sparkling piano notes performed by Deron Johnson, gets the rework treatment from none other than Colleen ‘Cosmo’ Murphy.

    Released via Ross Allen, and long-time collaborator Andy Thompson’s Foundation Music, the Classic Album Sunday’s originator, co-founder of the Lucky Cloud System parties and David Mancuso protégé, turns in her ‘Cosmodelica Remix’ muscling up the track for the dancefloor, with a demon bassline, funk fuelled bass guitar, and cosmic acid lines. There’s also a dub for those who prefer a more stripped down but equally pumping affair.


    Matt says: So good me and Pasta Paul almost conspired not to publicize it. Don't sleep on this absolute dancefloor bomb! Vocal and dub are killer; basement buggin' red light shit. NEED.


    A1. Lost And Looking (Cosmodelica Remix)
    B1. Lost And Looking (Cosmodelica Dub)

    Lady Blackbird

    Did Somebody Make A Fool Outta You / It's Not That Easy (RSD22 EDITION)


      Not much more can be said about Lady Blackbird's critically acclaimed album "Black Acid Soul", with it quite rightly being regarded as one of the best albums of recent times. Yet hidden in the vaults there was one final track from the Black Acid Soul recording session at Sunset Sound, LA that never saw the light of day. Foundation Music are now very happy to be telling this last piece of the story putting out "Did Somebody Make A Fool Outta You", a favourite of A&R and label owner Ross Allen that didnít fit the flow of the album, as a limited edition heavyweight coke bottle green vinyl 7" for RSD 2022. Backed with a standout from the LP, the Deep South, Reuben Bell penned ëItís Not That Easyí, you have two cuts that reveal a deeper, soulier, southern side of Lady Blackbird, beautifully showcasing her voice, her band and the stripped production that allows her to shine unfettered in the glory of her soul and those songs. This limited edition 7 is sure to be as collectible as the first run of the album, where copies were trading hands for over $300.00.

      Lady Blackbird

      Black Acid Soul

        After months of anticipation, Lady Blackbird’s already critically acclaimed debut album, Black Acid Soul which was recorded in legendary Studio B (Prince’s room) in Sunset Sound and produced by Grammy-nominated Chris Seefried has now been released via Foundation Music/BMG.

        To celebrate the release, Lady Blackbird recorded a live version of her latest single ‘It’ll Never Happen Again’ at the iconic Capitol ‘A’ studio in LA. The song is a gentle, yet powerful, reinvention of another poignant obscurity written by Tim Hardin and which first appeared on the folk singer’s seminal 1966 debut.

        With a voice that has stopped critics in their tracks, Lady Blackbird is a revelatory new talent with music that transcends the jazz scene through which the LA-based artist is rooted. Reflecting influences as varied as Billie Holiday, Gladys Knight, Tina Turner and Chaka Khan, with critics drawing comparisons to Adele, Amy and Celeste, Lady Blackbird’s distinct and beguiling talent is not one to be missed.


        It's Not That Easy
        Fix It
        Ruler Of My Heart
        Nobody's Sweetheart
        Five Feet Tall
        Lost And Looking
        It'll Never Happen Again
        Beware The Stranger
        Black Acid Soul

        Latest Pre-Sales

        65 NEW ITEMS

        Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for coming. 🎉
        Sat 3rd - 11:57
        Big love Jay. Thanks for coming down. 👍
        Sat 3rd - 11:54
        Soundcheck is still going on. So we’re a little late opening. Sorry about that.
        Fri 2nd - 7:14
        STAGE TIMES for our SOLD OUT End Of Year Review party across the road @nightanddaycafe tonight! DOORS 7PM KICKIN’…
        Fri 2nd - 6:14
        New banners up today to celebrate our winners 🏆 Album of the year @michaelheadtreb ‘Dear Scott’ via @ModernSkyUK
        Fri 2nd - 3:24
        E-newsletter —
        Sign up
        Back to top