Search Results for:


Greg Foat

Symphonie Pacifique

    Foat has become a versatile mainstay in UK jazz through an acclaimed series of albums on Jazzman and Athens Of The North, moving from soul-jazz workouts to library music to cinematic, haunting compositions and pastoral acid folk. ‘Symphonie Pacifique’ goes expansive and widescreen, building a lush soundscape using choral textures, harp and tubular bells on the atmospheric ‘After The Storm’ alongside sensual groove-based tracks like the undulating ‘Anticipation’, the album title track and Groove Merchant-channelling ‘Nikinakinu’, all driven by Phil Achille on bass, Eric Young on congas and Moses Boyd’s crisp, flowing breakbeats. Other tracks include a moving tribute to KPM library legend Duncan Lamont on the reflective ‘Lament For Lamont’ and the languid, simmering ‘Island Life’.

    The album is a truly international collaboration, recorded analogue and produced by Greg Foat at London’s Fish Factory studios with strings recorded in Edinburgh and choir in Gothenburg. The album was mixed by Mattias Glava at Kungsten Studios in Gothenburg. Cover artwork is based on a painting by early 20th Century Algerian / Parisian artist Henry Valensi.


    Barry says: Greg Foat has always had a firm place on the shop stereo, and 'Symphonie Pacifique' cements that likelihood with a swaying, filmic mash-up of syncopated hooks, frenetic percussion and effortless, jazzy cool. As perfectly redolent of the genre's past as it is it's future.


    A1. Prelude
    A2. Symphonie Pacifique
    A3. Undulation
    A4. Anticipation
    A5. Mu
    A6. Yonaguni
    B1. Island Life
    B2. Nikinakinu
    B3. Man Vs. Machine
    C1. Before The Storm
    C2. After The Storm
    C3. Meditation On A Pedal Steel
    C4. Lament For Lamont
    D1. Pointe-Vénus
    D2. Mother’S Love
    D3. Epilogue: Three Tenors

    Athens of the north is not just here to release great music but to support our artist development and experimentation, to this end we always try to bring good people together to work on new music. This LP fuses two massive talents, for the first time to AOTN we introduce House and Techno legend Linkwood, joining him is one of the |UKs most respected Jazz Artists Greg Foat, who will need no introduction to AOTN fans

    'Linkwood & Foat' is the first LP to be recorded in the new 'Athens of the North Studio', which was designed and built specifically for our artists so that they can create without the time pressures or expenses of studio hire elsewhere. With no fixed plans, no rules or expectations, the pair relaxed in the new studio and started making music. The result is very special indeed

    Linkwood had just returned from walking in the wilds of an Ibiza summer and Greg had similarly been immersed on the sun drenched south coast of the Isle of wight. This freedom and sense of space saturates the grooves of the LP juxtapositioned against a deeper late night basement club feel they both love so much, the pull between nightlife and the freedom of nature. It's extroversion and introversion, the freedom and escapism of the two seemingly opposing environments permeates this recording.


    Matt says: I mean, was it ever gonna yield anything other than truly amazing results? The prolific Greg Foat, whose previously provided various projects with his jazzy, neo-library multi-instrumentalism; and Edinburgh's Linkwood (aka Nick Moore), founder of groundbreaking and pioneering Firecracker Recordings which has peppered the dance music world with top drawer, boutique releases for 16 years. Together, their parts exponentially multiple for a fully immersive electro-psychedelic-jazz journey that no-one can rival.


    1. Es Vedra
    2. Marina
    3. Pressure
    4. Bentley 101
    5. Sa Talaia
    6. Neutrino
    7. Push It
    8. Mysterious Richie 

    Recording at Malcom Catto's analogue studio has been an ambition of Greg's for a long time, not only for the studio itself but for Malcolm's skill using this vintage equipment, very few people can achieve such an incredibly big sound.

    Earlier this year we grabbed the chance to get the full Greg Foat group joined by Binker Golding (Binker and Moses) on Tenor Saxophone, Malcolm Catto on drums and Hugh Harris (The Kooks) on Guitar on the session.

    Moving to a more rhythmic space, you could call it Jazz funk or Fusion, but labels suck so just listen and appreciate the pure sense of space Malcom achieves with this recording. Instruments float in space, aided by the Vintage EMI desk and a host of valve equipment which has taken Malcolm a lifetime to collect. In amongst the more rhythmic pieces we also have some classic Foat style compositions; 'Lake Kussharo' and 'The Dreaming Jewels' as emotive and personal as ever, a feeling that can only be expressed and articulated in music. These past few years will no doubt be looked back on with great favour in musical history, with prolific and high quality output in all his various projects this LP is his crowning achievement of 2019. A strong year indeed!


    Matt says: Foat without Hampshire? Still a delectable prospect I assure you, as the esteemed UK jazz luminerie moves through fusion and funk with a confident stride. Warmed through some classic vintage equipment this is raw Foat!


    1. Sapphire Dreams
    2. Eric's Breakdown
    3. The Door Into Summer
    4. Not That It Makes Any Difference
    5. Lake Kussharo
    6. Kushiro River
    7. This Is Not Necessarily My Answer, But
    8. The Dreaming Jewels 

    Part two of our nod to the world of library from Athens of the North introduce Greg Foat journeys into the world of synthesis with good friend James Thorpe. This new LP was recorded in the old Bees Studio on the Isle of Wight earlier this year, a special, different piece of work which I was delighted to receive on ¼ inch tape without warning. Greg's output continues to be prolific without ever tiring, he never plays it safe and is always looking forward whilst having an ear for our musical-heritage.


    1. Elementary Physiology, Pt. 1
    2. Elementary Physiology, Pt. 2
    3. Balloon Ride
    4. Circadian Rhythms
    5. Diametrically Opposed
    6. Grockle Box
    7. Living The Dream
    8. Platform Game
    9. Stacey's Theme
    10. Photosynthesis
    11. Chronobiology 

    Latest Pre-Sales

    173 NEW ITEMS

    Sunday Classics. OPEN until 5pm today.
    Sun 5th - 12:23
    NILE MARR OUTSTORE TONIGHT 🚨 The new album from @NileMarr is out today and to celebrate we’re hosting a launch par…
    Fri 3rd - 12:34
    Ace to have Arthur in yesterday 🐶 8 and a half months old! #dogfriendly #cockapoo
    Fri 3rd - 9:47
    E-newsletter —
    Sign up
    Back to top