Search Results for:


Field Works

Maples, Ash, And Oaks: Cedars Instrumentals

    Maples, Ash, and Oaks: Cedars Instrumentals is a mesmerizing soundtrack for a long walk in the woods, made up of pedal steel, oud, guitar, hurdy-gurdy, and piano. Based on the original Field Works album Cedars, this new suite of instrumental music brings the listener even deeper into the forest. For this special limited-edition release, Stuart Hyatt deconstructed each track from Cedars and rebuilt them one layer at a time. He removed the narrators’ voices and invited Julien Marchal to introduce piano as the new protagonist.

    The 15 new tracks are named from each line of the new poem, Deciduous, by Cecily Parks. The musical frameworks are based on the Field Works album Cedars, created by Marisa Anderson, Fadi Tabbal, and Stuart Hyatt – and performed by Julien Marchal, Youmna Saba, Dena El Saffar, Danny Paul Grody, Bob Hoffnar, Stuart Hyatt, Tomás Lozano, Nathan Bowles, Alex Roldan, Fadi Tabbal, and Marisa Anderson. The forest soundscape was recorded by Harrison Ridley in the Welsh countryside. PRESS - “For those interested in the intersection between field recordings and music, this is a must-have.” A Closer Listen.


    1. The Morning Bends Down (2:36)
    2. To Meet The Canopy (2:54)
    3. That We Walk Under. (2:19)
    4. We Know The Moss, Forget-Me-Nots (2:08)
    5. And Blue-Green Spruce (2:41)
    6. But We Want To Be Known (2:32)
    7. By The Woods. We Say (1:29)
    8. Without Saying, Forget Me Not. (2:18)
    9. We Listen To Maples, Ash, And Oaks, (1:58)
    10. Without Hearing, But Not Hearing (2:12)
    11. Doesn't Mean That We Aren't (2:01)
    12. Being Spoken To. (2:16)
    13. What Was That? Leaves Rustle (2:14)
    14. As If To Say, You Forget. (1:48)
    15. We Forgot. (2:07)

    Field Works


      Features new collaborations with Todd Fleming Davis, Youmna Saba, H.C. McEntire, Marisa Anderson, Fadi Tabbal, Dena El Saffar, Danny Paul Grody, Bob Hoffnar, Tomás Lozano, Nathan Bowles, Alex Roldan, and María Medem.

      The mystifying 9th album in the Field Works series, Cedars combines cosmic Americana with Western ambient and Middle Eastern influences. Delicate layers of pedal steel, banjo, oud, and hurdy-gurdy float atop looping guitar drones to create a soothing, atmospheric chamber where folk and electronic music coalesce. Set to Arabic and English poetry, the song cycle examines some of Earth’s most iconic and ancient forests, revealing our complicated relationship with the natural world. For this special dual-language release, Field Works producer Stuart Hyatt has assembled a supergroup of musicians, poets, and artists. The album is narrated by Youmna Saba and H.C. McEntire. Instrumentalists include Marisa Anderson, Fadi Tabbal, Dena El Saffar, Danny Paul Grody, Bob Hoffnar, Tomás Lozano, Nathan Bowles, Alex Roldan, Youmna Saba, and Stuart Hyatt.

      Renowned illustrator María Medem brings poems by Todd Fleming Davis and Youmna Saba to life in the accompanying full-color Risograph comic book (in the vinyl edition); and longtime Field Works collaborators PRINTtEXT design the packaging.


      1. La’āli’ (2:54)
      2. Thāk-al-yawm (2:10)
      3. Badron Wa Qina‛ (2:19)
      4. ’Arāha (2:02)
      5. In‛ikās (2:01)
      6. ’Aylūll (2:36)
      7. Ar-raḥīl (1:56)

      Latest Pre-Sales

      136 NEW ITEMS

      PRESALE: @dinkededition 146 @mhaolmusic 'Gender Studies' • Clear Vinyl 12" EP • Signed & numbered postcard insert…
      Wed 22nd - 9:30
      We only have a couple of tickets left for the @Tim_Burgess show @nightanddaycafe tonight. It's going to be mega. I…
      Wed 22nd - 7:15
      Thank you for the music Richard H. Kirk. 1956 - 2021.
      Wed 22nd - 7:04
      We've had a couple of cancellations for the @Tim_Burgess - I Love The New Sky album launch show at…
      Tue 21st - 2:53
      PRESALE: @dinkededition 145 @stealingsheep & @radiophonicwork 'La Planète Sauvage' • 2LP Blue / white psychedelic…
      Tue 21st - 10:00
      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top