Search Results for:


Camilla George


    Saxophonist, composer, bandleader and innovator Camilla George makes a stunning return with her third album ‘Ibio-Ibio’ - a rich, cultural journey dedicated to her Ibibio tribe of south eastern coastal Nigeria.

    The album is a heady mix of afrobeat, hip hop and jazz coproduced by Camilla George. Across eight tracks, Camilla’s virtuosic alto saxophone performance collaborates with a stellar line-up of some of the hottest players in London’s jazz scene including Daniel Casimir (bass), Shirley Tetteh (guitar), Winston Clifford (drums), Sheila Maurice-Grey (trumpet), Rosie Turton (trombone), Renato Paris (vocals), Sarah Tandy (keys), plus Senegalese kora player Kadialy Kouyate, acclaimed US drummer Daru Jones (Jack White, Pete Rock, Talib Kweli), and Birmingham’s finest MC Lady Sanity.

    Camilla describes: “This album is a celebration of roots, creation and community. The Ibibio people, related to the Anang are the most ancient settlers in Nigeria. They stand for community and togetherness - something that in these increasingly strange times, gives me guidance, hope and comfort. I have dedicated ‘Ibio-Ibio’ to the Ibibio people and celebrate our creation and beliefs. Ibio-Ibio is a nickname for the Ibibio people, meaning brief / short, which is a reference to our quick and direct way of doing things and not our height!”


    A1. Creation – Abasi And Atai (Ft. Sanity And Daru Jones)
    A2. Journey Across The Sea
    A3. Ekpe
    A4. The Long Juju Slave Route Of Arochokwu (ft. Sanity And Daru Jones)
    B1. Ukpong
    B2. Abasi Enyong
    B3. Abasi Isang
    B4. Creation – Nnyin Ido Ibibio (ft. Sanity And Daru Jones)

    Latest Pre-Sales

    109 NEW ITEMS

    E-newsletter —
    Sign up
    Back to top