Search Results for:



The Flow Across Borders: The Remixes

    The idea for a remix LP came about following the incredibly positive reception that greeted “The Flow Across Borders” upon its release in May last year.

    After the services of The Orb and Richard Norris were secured by the label, Frazer and Ali asked some of their favourite artists on Castles in Space to contribute remixes for the project, which subsequently grew into a wonderful overview of both the scope and diversity of the band’s output and the skill and sensitivity of the remixers.

    Frazer Brown: “As the tracks started to come in, we realised that this collection was going to be something very special. The Orb remix is classic Orb, Richard Norris’ contribution is pure bliss, and the fact that this is the first official remix that Concretism has ever done is especially thrilling. Every track is astounding…”

    Ali O’May and Frazer Brown met in early 2018 while performing with their respective bands at an Electronic Music Open Mic (EMOM) gig in Edinburgh. With obvious common interests, further discussions lead a few months later to Ali passing Frazer a USB drive filled with stems recorded directly from Ali’s vast modular system. Across August and September 2019, Frazer used about a dozen of those stems as the foundation for a set of tracks, building them into fully realised pieces across a range of styles from techno, lo-fi, breaks, acid house and ambient. And thus was born the Dohnavúr method - Ali coaxing the raw materials from his modular set up and Frazer working them up instinctively with his encyclopaedic knowledge of electronic music into tracks for which the feel, genre and direction is inspired by Ali’s foundational building blocks.

    Sleeve artwork is once again handled by Mark Hall.


    01 New Objectivity - The Orb’s Rest And Be Thankful Mix
    02 The Kindness Of Others - Concretism Remix
    03 Twenty There - Warrington-Runcorn New Town Development Plan Remix
    04 The Kindness Of Others - Richard Norris Remix
    05 Sunk - Kieran Mahon Remix
    06 Pwll Du - Letters From Mouse Remix
    07 Five To Return - Pulselovers Remix


    The Flow Across Borders

      With an inventive, collaborative work method Ali O’May and Frazer Brown have quickly created a body of work that’s strikingly personal and staggeringly good. Modular magician Ali creates pools of electronic raw material out of his set-up, which Frazer then sets to work arranging and editing with his encyclopedic knowledge of dance music and expert ear.

      It's a winning formula which Castles In Space have embraced into their bosom – releasing “The Isolation Tapes” during lockdown and now their new album: “The Flow Across Borders”.

      “The Flow Across Borders” continues and expands the ‘Dohnavùr Method’ now based upon a whole new set of creations from Ali and shaped into an extraordinarily diverse and thrilling collection by Frazer in his Armadale studio. The approach of following the direction suggested by Ali’s modular stems makes for a kinetic and high-voltage collection unshackled from genre boundaries, but with all tracks united by the duo’s shared sense of purpose. It’s a provocative and direct album which ranges from halcyon ambience to floor shaking techno. One can hear the clockwork precision of Plone in “The Kindness of Others” and the clean meticulousness of peak period Orbital in “Sunk”. A centrepiece of the record is the chilling spoken word social commentary mood piece, “Phlá Doiléir” (Scottish Gaelic for “The Vage Plague”). This is followed by the Eno-esque majesty of album closer “Pass remarkable”. It’s all here to be enjoyed.


      Barry says: Having been aware of both Fra and Ali's work for quite some time via the wonderful Castles In Space, it's a delight to finally get this into the shop (after ALL MANNER of issues). Deep percussion and flickering synth blips form the basis for Dohnavur's soaring, euphoric electronica. They're playing in Manchester next April, and i'll be supporting them too! Grab this and give it a spin, you won't regret it.


      1. New Objectivity
      2. Sestriere
      3. The Kindness Of Others
      4. Sunk
      5. Blue Stripe
      6. Phlá Doiléir
      7. Twenty There
      8. Pwll Du
      9. Five To Return
      10. Pass Remarkable


      New Objectivity (The Orb’s Rest And Be Thankful Mix)

        The album’s opening track has been given an enthralling nine and half minute ambient house remix by the godfathers of the scene, The Orb. This leading 12” is released on 7th May and is backed by a staggering Werra Foxma mix of the track by Dohnavùr themselves. The catalogue number for the 12” is CiS080 and it is available as a white vinyl edition.

        Following the release of “The Flow Across Borders”, the Dohnavùr journey continues with a remix album which is ready to be released later in the year. The album features incredible remixes from Richard Norris, Concretism, Warrington/ Runcorn, Kieran Mahon, Letters From Mouse and Pulselovers. Dohnavùr have already returned the favour to Richard Norris (of The Grid/Beyond the Wizard’s Sleeve fame) for the group’s first official remix commission, remixing the track ‘Water’, currently available on Richard’s Group Mind label. 


        1. New Objectivity (The Orbs Rest And Be Thankful Mix)
        2. New Objectivity (Werra Foxma Remix)

        Latest Pre-Sales

        153 NEW ITEMS

        😀 Saw you at the counter, you should have said something. Good work 📸
        Fri 1st - 1:04
        OPEN Happy #newmusicfriday everyone 🙌 Here’s a small selection of some of the great releases out today. We’re here…
        Fri 1st - 9:19
        Weekly New Release Mailout Gwenno, Warmduscher, La Torre Ibiza, Fleet Foxes, Momma, Melts…
        Thu 30th - 5:20
        E-newsletter —
        Sign up
        Back to top