Search Results for:


Light Asylum

Light Asylum - 2023 Reissue

    Light Asylum’s debut LP came out in 2012, a time before streaming really gained critical mass and before vinyl came back in a big way. It was a weird in-between era, like both the recent past and ancient history.

    History has been kind to Light Asylum. For one, whatever limited vinyl copies were pressed in the initial run fetch stupid prices on Discogs. And the critical shrug that welcomed its release now seems irrelevant. This is top-notch, black-clad, spiritually punishing synth-pop, perfectly and carefully programmed and soaring on the back of lead singer Shannon Funchess’ superhuman voice.

    Side A, with rampages like “IPC,” is heavier and faster than Side B, which opens with a slow, serene, goosebump-inducing track titled “Angel Tongue” and finished with the near ecstatic “A Certain Person.”

    Package includes a four-color gatefold jacket, printed insert, and 24” x 36” poster.


    1. Hour Fortress
    2. Pope Will Roll
    3. IPC
    4. Heart Of Dust
    5. Sins Of The Flesh
    6. Angel Tongue
    7. Shallow Tears
    8. At Will
    9. End Of Days
    10. A Certain Person

    LCD Soundsystem

    New Body Rhumba

    Stretch 'em out and shake off the cobwebs - LCD Soundsystem have returned, in recorded form, from a 5-year hibernation. 'new body rhumba' was written and recorded for the new Noah Baumbach film, White Noise, which is an adaptation of the Don DeLillo novel. It’s classic LCD, all tight and brash, with a coda headed for the second star from the right and straight on 'till morning.

    Single-sided 12'' vinyl, mastered and cut at 45rpm by Bob 'Sparklebear' Weston at Chicago Mastering Service, pressed at MPO in France.


    A1. New Body Rhumba

    Various Artists

    DFA Records Compilation #2

      First time on vinyl, fully remastered and resequence by James and Bob Weston.

      Behold, Compilation #2. A compendium what are arguably the best prime-era DFA cuts, mostly all recorded and/or remixed at the old DFA Studios on W. 13th Street (with some notable exceptions), released as 12-inches and then compiled onto a 3xCD set for convenience because, at the time, people actually bought CDs more than vinyl.

      Now, in the spirit of time not really being much of a linear thing anymore, and for our own selfish desire to have this version of Liquid Liquid’s “Bellhead,” produced by the DFA, finally committed to wax, we have reverse engineered this thing back onto vinyl and presented it as a four-record boxed set.

      We went back and found the master tapes or files for each song - a not insignificant effort given our habit of disorganization. We then rather painstakingly resequenced and remastered it with the guy we trust with such things: Bob Weston at Chicago Mastering Service. The lacquers Bob cut were plated and pressed at what we believe to be one of the best pressing plants in the country: QRP in Salina, Kansas.

      We tell you all of this to say: we took this shit pretty seriously. Because we felt like it was important and because we felt like some folks would really appreciate it. It sounds remarkable. It looks great. (Rob Carmichael re-did the original packaging, adding a new photo from DFA OG Tim Saccenti from one of the original parties at W. 13th St.) Of course, we somehow can’t stop ourselves from making labeling errors - Pixeltan’s “That’s the Way I Like It” somehow escaped the center labels on the fourth record. It’s kind of the DFA curse. Has to be!


      SIDE A
      Black Leotard Front - Casual Friday
      SIDE B
      J.O.Y. - Sunplus (DFA Remix)
      The Juan MacLean - I Robot
      The Juan MacLean - Dance Hall Modulator Dub
      SIDE C
      Delia Gonzalez & Gavin Russom - Rise (DFA Remix)
      Black Dice - Wasteder
      J.O.Y. - Sunplus
      SIDE D
      LCD Soundsystem - Yeah (Pretentious Version)
      The Rapture - Sister Saviour (DFA Dub)
      SIDE E
      Liquid Liquid - Bellhead
      LCD Soundsystem - Yeah (Crass Version)
      SIDE F
      Delia Gonzalez & Gavin Russom - El Monte
      The Rapture - Alabama Sunshine
      SIDE G
      Pixeltan - Get Up / Say What (DFA Remix)
      LCD Soundsystem - Beat Connection (Extended Disco Dub)
      SIDE H
      Pixeltan - That’s The Way I Like It
      Black Dice - Endless Happiness (EYE Remix)
      The Juan MacLean - Less Than Human

      Latest Pre-Sales

      243 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top