Search Results for:


The man who put the beat into afro-beat is back! Comet deliver a reissue of "Black Voices", featuring remastered versions and a new bonus track “Ariya (Psyche Juju Mix)”.
Tony Allen completely rewrote the books on what was possible within the AfroBeat genre with his stunning 1999 album, Black Voices. When one considers exactly "what" is going on throughout Black Voices, it is quite mind boggling, as it is almost impossible to associate a minimalist, electronic feel with the massive walls of sound which Allen was known to create. But those walls of sound are still very present, just delivered with an entirely new feel due to the presence of the producer, Doctor L. He takes the mesmerizing rhythms that Allen creates and he spins them into a stunningly modern sound. While Doctor L's production work throughout Black Voices is truly fantastic, it is clear that the genius behind the album lies within the mind of Tony Allen. With the absolutely mesmerizing, funky grooves that Allen creates, it comes as little surprise that the vocal collaborations are handled by members of one of the funkiest bands in history: Parliament-Funkadelic.
For almost two decades, "Black Voices" has remained a stunning example of the fantastic results that can occur when seemingly unrelated genres clash. 


A1. Asiko
A2. Get Together
B1. Black Voices
B2. The Same Blood
C1. Asiko (In A Silent Mix)
D1. Black Voices (We Are We Play Mix)
D2. ARIYA (Psychedelic Juju Mix)

Tony Allen & The Afro Messengers

No Discrimination

Comet Records presents the Tony Allen & Afrika 70 reissue series with the classic late seventies first four solo albums of Tony Allen remastered and restored: Jealousy, Progress, No Accomodation for Lagos & No Discrimination, all coming in an heavy Deluxe Tip-On Jacket.
Tony's solo album, No Discrimination, marks an important turning point in Tony Allen's musical life. Tony had recently left Fela's band, which was clearly an emotional yet necessary change as Allen sings of love and brotherhood throughout his fourth solo album. No Discrimination, both in composition and sound, is a blueprint for the future of Afrobeat, decades ahead of its time. The songs are a mixture of old and new - fusing the classic Afrobeat compositional style with modern production and ideas. Classic tunes like "No Discrimination" and "Ariya" pushed boundaries for what Afrobeat could be, which a wave of Afrobeat bands would pick up on decades later.
With No Discrimination, Tony begins to move Afrobeat into the future, which he would continue doing for the rest of his career.
Tony Allen was a musical and compositional visionary, and this album finds him beginning to explore that vision outside of Fela's immense gravitational pull. They are the start of a new era in Tony's fruitful career as a solo artist, opening the floodgates for his distinctive Afro-Funk sound and laying the foundation for the next generation of Afrobeat musicians to come.


A1. No Discrimination
A2. Road Safety
B1. Ariya
B2. Love Is A Natural Thing

Tony Allen Plays With Afrika 70

No Accommodation For Lagos

1978 was without a doubt one of the most disturbing years in the history of Fela and the Afrika 70. Just a year before the army had raided Fela's compound destroying his house, his club, his brother's free medical clinic and fatally injuring his mother. With their houses destroyed the band had to squat the former Decca offices. Somewhere in between the madness they managed to record Fela's "Suffering And Schmiling" album and Tony Allen's third solo-project: "No Accomodation For Lagos". Without a doubt his most political orientated record of all. After the record came out Tony Allen dropped from the Afrika 70 band as he felt that too many people were sapping Fela of his creative energies.


A1. No Accomodation
B1. African Message

Tony Allen

N.E.P.A. (Never Expect Power Always)

    Comet Records presents from Afrobeat pioneer Tony Allen, N.E.P.A Reissue LP Vinyl remastered and coming in an heavy Deluxe Tip-On Jacket.

    In 1979, Tony Allen decided to leave Fela Kuti & Africa 70 and moved to London in 1982. Originally Released in 1984 on Earthworks Records, this reissue holds an extra track previously unreleased on vinyl called “Olokun”. N.E.P.A (Never Expect Power Always) is a searing critique of the Nigerian Electric Power Authority, an organisation that governed the use of electricity in Nigeria.

    It starts out with the title track, with a definite Afro-beat punch. Electro-claps stand as part of the percussion line, adding to a more modern look at what Afro-beat was becoming. This is followed by an even further modernized piece of Afro-beat, as the title track is given a dub mix. “When One Road Close” has a similar pace, and is similarly followed by a dub remix, complete with the necessary space-effects reverb. And to make this reissue extra special the track “Olokun” was never released on vinyl before.

    Blending the nascent rise of electronica into Afrobeat production, it’s tighter than any Fela album and became a definitive project in shaping Allen’s future sound. Whether it’s the electro beats or the punchier, multilayered arrangement, it instantly stands out in Allen’s vast and expansive discography.


    A1. N.E.P.A. (Never Expect Power Always)
    A2. N.E.P.A. Dance Dub
    B1. When One Road Close (Another One Go Open)
    B2. Road Close Dance Dub
    B3. Olokun

    Nu Guinea

    The Tony Allen Experiments

    Nu Genea née Nu Guinea joined the ranks of Comet's Afrobeat Makers series back in 2016 following a pair of top 12"s on Early Sounds and Tartelet. Now this was a couple of years before the Neapolitans became underground megastars with their "Nuova Napoli" LP, so got sadly slept on by some. Luckily, there's now a second bite at the cherry, so don't laze away this time. By re-working the original drum patterns from Afrobeat master Tony Allen, the duo created a compilation of super groovy tracks in their typically voluminous
    electronic jazz-funk style. Hints of Mediterranean house meet spacey gurgles, soaring synth lines top shuffling rhythms and the whole thing is cool as fuck. Essential tackle for fans of either Afrobeat or that Naples sound.


    A1. Prelude
    A2. Howls
    A3. Open Paths
    A4. NG Theme
    A5. Stasis (Calm Before The Storm)
    B1. TA-Storm
    B2. The Birds Rejoice
    B3. Phunkhysteria
    B4. The Sun Returns

    Just In

    63 NEW ITEMS

    Latest Pre-Sales

    104 NEW ITEMS

    🎄BACK IN STOCK 🎄 A Charlie Brown Christmas - Vince Guaraldi Trio’s enduring soundtrack to the 1965 animated PEANUT…
    Thu 2nd - 11:18
    Frank Timm back on the attack! Disgo (SOUNDSTREAM) 'Trick Or Track'
    Wed 1st - 2:15
    Super excited that we’ll be having a ‘Tim In Listening Party Land’ retro arcade in the shop this Sunday for…
    Wed 1st - 1:41
    It’s December 1 - so time to get festive 🎄 The classic ‘A Charlie Brown Christmas’ album is, sadly, currently out…
    Wed 1st - 11:47
    E-newsletter —
    Sign up
    Back to top