Search Results for:


Sean Lennon

Ava's Possessions - Music From The Film

    Sean Lennon's AVA’S POSSESSIONS film score is the musical backdrop for a quirky and eerie alternatereality that flips the possessions genre on its head, starring Louisa Krause, Carol Kane, Jemima Kirke and Dan Fogler.

    A mysterious, dreamy wash of echoey drum machines and keyboards with dark and foreboding synth arrangements, twangy guitar riffs with a sci-fi western flair, 50s pop, 70s punk, creepy demonic themes interlaced with a touch raunchy, swaggering horns that recalls old school film noir — these diverse elements blend seamlessly to build a world of ominous moods and devilish confrontations, with a surprisingly fresh indie rock edge.

    Lennon acts as both composer and performer on 10 of the songs, the remaining 2 being bonus tracks contributed by A.A. Khan (aka King Khan) and Mary Ochers. Vocalists Karla Moheno, Bishi and Foley Steward lend their voices to “Different Drum,” “Devil Daughter” and “Blame Beelzabub” respectively.

    Lennon has released two previous film scores, Rosencrantz And Guildenstern Are Undead and Alter Egos, to great critical acclaim. The diversity of these projects is a testament to his range as a musician, with nearly every review commenting on the film's music, calling it one of the single best things about the film.

    Yoko Ono Plastic Ono Band

    Take Me To The Land Of Hell

      Following her hugely successful run as curator of London’s Meltdown Festival, this album continues an astonishing bout of creativity for Ono, who is celebrating her 80th birthday with major museum retrospectives around the world, her 10th #1 hit on the Billboard Dance charts, a sequel to her instruction book Grapefruit, winning "Digital Genius" MTV O Award, and spearheading the activist effort against fracking in her home state of New York. A career retrospective book will be published by Genesis in Autumn followed by reissues of her '60s-80s albums in 2014.

      “My new album comes at a very special time for me. The energy I have right now, and the desire to continue to make as much great work as I can, is really moving me forward all the time. This album is the culmination of a lot of ideas I’ve been having over the last few years and I feel proud to release it at such an exciting time of my life."

      Take Me To The Land Of Hell was recorded in New York and produced by Yoko, Sean Lennon and Yuka Honda. Yoko Ono Plastic Ono Band includes members of Cornelius and Cibo Matto, plus – special guests for this album – tUnEyArDs, ?uestlove, Lenny Kravitz, Nels Cline and Andrew Wyatt. The album includes remixes by Mike D & Adrock and Keigo "Cornelius" Oyamada.


      Tune Yards As Yoko

        tUnE-yArDs record Yoko Ono's "We're All Water" and remix Yoko's "Warrior Woman."

        • Limited edition of 1,000.
        • Beautifully pressed one-side 10" vinyl with a Yoko etching on the flip side.
        • Packaged in a clear plastic sleeve.
        • Proceeds to benefit a charity TBD.

        Mystical Weapons

        Mystical Weapons

          Debut album from an explorative multi-instrumental duo: Sean Lennon (Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger) and Greg Saunier (Deerfhoof). Instrumental psych rock & avant garde in a variety of moods and styles. “Whisper of the Blue Tongue” combines Umma Gumma guitar flights with the coarse organ sound of Miles Davis’ early electric period. “Consortium Musicum” feels like one of Morricone’s spaghetti western themes being eaten by a Japanese film monster. “Dirty” is a lovely piece of blocked piano chords and light drumming worthy of Bill Evans. “Gross Domestic” mixes the feel of ’69 Soft Machine and Waka/Jawaka Zappa as brilliantly as anyone since the legendary French free-rock band, Red Noise. Truly, the music here is all over the place, but it’s held together by a rigorous intelligence of conception and a joyful “DO IT” spontaneity that continually challenges both players and listeners. With the mystical weapons Jodorowsky displays in his 1973 film, The Holy Mountain, you need to be careful when selecting just which psychedelic shotgun you need for a specific job. With these Mystical Weapons, you can just relax and leave it to them. They destroy form in any style you can imagine. - Byron Coley

          Yoko Ono / Thurston Moore / Kim Gordon


            What we have here is a New York City avant garde convergence at its finest. The idea of a meeting between Yoko Ono, Kim Gordon and Thurston Moore is so perfect, so obvious, the only shock is that it didn’t happen earlier. Recorded last year at Manhattan’s Sear Sound, the album features lead vocals by Yoko, with backing vocals and guitars by Kim and Thurston. It’s a wild collision of song-form, poetics, free-rock and classic glossolalic ecstasy. Yoko has not allowed herself to sound this raw since the earliest recordings of the Plastic Ono Band. There’s a remarkably empathic and comfortable quality to the sound. The three communicate as though they’d been playing together forever.

            Floored By Four

            Floored By Four

              Mike Watt's 'Manhattan project' is a (mostly) instrumental record by four remarkable musicians - Nels Cline (Wilco, Nels Cline Trio/Singers), Yuka Honda (Cibo Matto), Dougie Browne (Iggy Pop, Arto Lindsay, Lounge Lizards) & Mike Watt (The Stooges, fIREHOSE, Minutmen, Dos). All of the Four are gifted players but more importantly they are original, idiosyncratic, and unpredictable musicians.

              "Floored By Four" shifts effortlessly & unexpectedly between dark and mysterious jazz, avant-punk, exotic otherworldly sounds, strutting Memphis soul, echoing Sun Ra, Booker T, Bitches Brew, Can, Funkadelic, Sonic Youth, Beefheart, and Xenakis.

              Latest Pre-Sales

              94 NEW ITEMS

              E-newsletter —
              Sign up
              Back to top