Search Results for:


Tim Cohen

You Are Still Here

    Brand new album from Fresh & Onlys mainman Tim Cohen "When people muse on the quirky literate songwriter traditions of San Francisco, certain names come to mind. Garcia/Hunter, Country Joe, Skip Spence, Jonathan Richman; it's time to add Tim Cohen to the roll call!" For more than a decade, Cohen has consistently released woefully under-the-radar albums of wry, intelligent, romantic pop songs. Each of his musical personalities (The Fresh & Onlys, Magic Trick) has evolved from charming bedroom shamble to fully realized studio endeavor, and finally his eponymous musical efforts have caught up with the others. March 2021 will see the release of Cohen's 6th solo album, "You are Still Here"; the first one recorded in a studio proper, and the first for Bobo Integral Records (Spain).

    Milky Wimpshake

    Confessions Of An English Marxist

      Referred to by some as punk folk and twee skiffle, they're considered witty, satirical, and both irritating and utterly enjoyable, Newcastle Upon Tyne based cult indie-pop heroes Milky Wimpshake have released numerous singles and compilation tracks on assorted indie labels since forming in 1993.

      This is their first album since 2015, first one for the Spanish label Bobo Integral. 'Confessions Of An English Marxist' will provide the usual brilliant lyrics, full of references to pop culture, class struggle, and love, plus infectious indie punk tunes. Welcome back, Milky Wimpshake!

      "A slow birth! At least one song on this album was written when 'Dave' Cameron (remember him?) was prime minister, hence a nod to bestiality on one track. Oh yeah, and then bloody Brexit happened, blimey, that didn't escape anyone's attention did it? And now this album finalised at a time of global pandemic, ha! This predicament meant that a working title of 'The Wimps are Alright' had to be abandoned (possibly to be revived later). There's a few confessions on this album, but not enough confessions of guilt perhaps - I'll get there." - Pete Dale about 'Confessions Of An English Marxist'

      Milky Wimpshake are a lo-fi indie punk threesome from Newcastle consisting of Emma Wigham (drums), Christine Rowe (bass), and frontman Pete Dale (vocals, guitar, songwriting), whose scene credits include running the Slampt label; FAST Connection fanzine, and the bands Avocado Baby, Pussycat Trash, Chronicity, and Red Monkey.

      Milky Wimpshake began their under-the-radar run in the early '90s to investigate daydreamy sentiments and D.I.Y. takes on sociopolitical protest songs. Working at an extremely relaxed pace, Milky Wimpshake's discography exists in piecemeal compilation appearances, long out of print 7" singles, and a scant seven albums stretched out over the course of more than 25 years.

      'Confessions Of An English Marxist' is one of their best albums to date, these are songs that say more about today's world than most of the written media. Fuck art, let's danse!


      SIDE A
      A1. Capitalism Is A Perversion
      A2. I Just Can't Escape From Myself
      A3. You Make A Nice Piece Of Art
      A4. Leicester Square (You Stopped My Time)
      A5. Fuck Art, Let's Danse
      A6. I Don't Wanna Work
      A7. King Of Clubs

      SIDE B
      B1. Hospital Coffee
      B2. Vignette
      B3. Welcome To Fascist Britain
      B4. Wanna Marry?
      B5. No War (But The Class War)
      B6. Chester Brown
      B7. Written By Hand
      B8. I Don't Wanna Go There

      Butcher The Bar is the once bedroom pop recording project of Joel Nicholson (Joel from Vinyl Exchange to us!... - ed), now a 5 piece guitar band based in Manchester. Written and recorded between 2013 - 2015 - "III" is the first BtB album to feature a full band, originally put together to tour in 2011 following FEAFT. Recorded in studios and houses across South Manchester, this collection of songs are the most dynamic, diverse, and fully realised of any BtB release to date. It features Matt Grayson and Andrew Cheatham of Irma Vepp and Jane Weaver fame plus Gavin Clarke on bass who's previously weilded guitar for Easter and shop favourite DBH who guests on violin. An all star cast! - and it's mastered by Pete Phillipson.

      Musically it's a joyfully melancholy affair, splattered with the rain soaked pavements of Manchester but looking through the drizzle with a bright outlook. There's hints of Real Estate's jangle, and although technically pre-dating Horsebeach's triptych of LPs, comparisons simply must be drawn for its naivety and charm; and it is destined to pique the interest of fellow Manchester DIY stable - Box Bedroom Rebels. If any of this appeals to you, then "III" is gonna be the perfect antidote for a rained-off Saturday afternoon of contemplation and introspection.

      You can catch Butch The Bar playing at The Eagle Inn, Salford for Hey! Manchester on August 23rd...


      says: ice LP of softly spoken indie and rainy day lo-fi grown out of our fertile home soils. Suavely understated with tons of sentiment; one of those albums that'll get better with every listen.


      1 Lying
      2 Haunts
      3 Clarky
      4 Rosa
      5 Elevator
      6 Agree
      7 Toulouse
      8 Wire
      9 Crime
      10 ...
      11 Go

      Latest Pre-Sales

      153 NEW ITEMS

      PRESALE: @dinkededition 136 @adaleamusic 'One Hand on The Steering Wheel The Other Sewing A Garden' • "Fluffy Clo…
      Tue 27th - 1:30
      New @dinkededition will be revealed tomorrow at 2.30pm. Set those alarms🚨
      Mon 26th - 2:34
      Pretty cool DIY video here from JW Francis @JWFranfran > It’s a fun little taster of his…
      Mon 26th - 1:28
      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top