Search Results for:


The Bevis Frond

The Clocks - 2024 Reissue

    ‘The Clocks' was originally issued in 2007 as a CD-only limited edition of 110 for members of 'The Bevis Frond Online Community'. It comprised 19 previously unissued tracks. Most of these were home demos featuring just Frond frontman Nick Saloman on all instruments and vocals. Since then, it has never been re-issued in any format. It is therefore with great pleasure that Blue Matter are re-issuing it for the first time, and now as a vinyl double album and limited CD. Due to certain circumstances, three of the original tracks could not be used, so these have been replaced these with another three previously unheard tracks from Nick Saloman's extensive archives. These songs include the seven minute 'She's Taken It All', originally intended for 2004's 'Hit Squad' album but dropped at the last minute due to timing constraints. The beautiful 'You Better Make Do' and the edgy 'Devil Doll' have also been added. We are delighted to be able to make this 'long lost' album available once again and think it will be a welcome addition to the Bevis Frond canon.


    Side One.
    1 Worlde Is Older
    2 The Clocks
    3 Home Is Where The Head Is
    4 Cut To The Quick
    Side Two.
    5 Bless Him
    6 Anything You Say
    7 Devil Doll
    8 God
    9 When I’m Gone
    10 I Need The Rush.
    Side Three.
    11 Watch The Sun
    12 You Better Make Do
    13 Little Ray
    14 She’s Taken It All.
    Side Four.
    15 Things He Said
    16 I’ll Save Myself
    17 I Wasn’t There
    18 I’m Better Now
    19 Shades 

    Tom Rapp

    A Journal Of The Plague Year - 2023 Reissue

      What a privilege to start a new record label with an album of such quality. As we're sure most of you will know, Tom was the front man of the legendary US psychedelic/folk band PEARLS BEFORE SWINE. Recording for the ESP label in the 60s, then moving to Reprise, PBS left us a legacy of strange, beautiful music. In the early 70s Tom went solo, recording more albums for Reprise and Blue Thumb. As a schoolkid he came third in a talent show in which fellow schoolboy, Bobby Zimmerman (yes, that Bobby Zimmerman), came fifth! He played gigs with Pink Floyd, Crazy Horse, Patti Smith and many more before calling time in 1976, and becoming a Civil Rights lawyer. Renewed interest in Tom and PBS in the late 90s led to him making some staggeringly good live appearances. Then in 1999 he released his first album for over 25 years. The prophetically titled 'A Journal Of The Plague Year'. Featuring appearances from Damon Krukowski and Naomi Yang (of Galaxie 500 fame) and Masakai Batoh of Japanese band Ghost, came out on the British label Woronzow to great acclaim. This is the first ever reissue of 'Plague Year' and it comes with the original artwork and lyric insert, as a limited vinyl edition of 400 and a CD version of just 200. Tragically, Tom died in 2018 aged 70. It was a joy to count him as a friend. Blue Matter would like to thank Lynn Madison-Rapp & Ade Shaw for their help with making this reissue a reality.


      Side One.
      1 Silver Apples (A Capella)
      2 The Swimmer (For Kurt Cobain)
      3 Blind
      4 Space
      5 Mars
      6 Hopelessly Romantic
      Side Two.
      1 Running In My Dream
      2 Wedding Song
      3 Silver Apples II (For Simeon)
      4 Shoebox Symphony 1) Where Is Love? 2) State U 3) Just Let The Grass Grow

      Latest Pre-Sales

      166 NEW ITEMS

      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top