Search Results for:


Mute are proud to present the 21st anniversary deluxe editions of The Afghan Whigs’ landmark album ‘Gentlemen’.

‘Gentlemen At 21’ features the original album newly remastered along with bonus content consisting of rare Bsides, live performances and previously unreleased demos.

‘Gentlemen At 21’ presents the original record’s 11 tracks, updated but still retaining the 1993 album’s blistering swagger. The same 11 tracks that have made a visceral connection with fans over the last 21 years - the deeply dark and confessional lyrical content, the no-frills production qualities and Greg Dulli’s soul-baring vocal performances captured on tape. In addition, the album includes all the original demos for the album, which were recorded at John Curley’s Ultrasuede studio space in Cincinnati.

The bonus material also includes the original ‘Debonair’ single B sides, including ‘Mr Superlove’ and a cover of the southern blue-eyed soul classic ‘Dark End Of The Street’ along with three songs recorded live for KTCL in Denver, previously issued on the ‘What Jail Is Like’ EP. The set comes packaged with a faithful reproduction of the original sleeve art and its striking front cover image, an homage to Nan Goldin’s iconic ‘Nan And Brian In Bed, New York City’.


1. If I Were Going
2. Gentlemen
3. Be Sweet
4. Debonair
5. When We Two Parted
6. Fountain And Fairfax
7. What Jail Is Like
8. My Curse
9. Now You Know
10. I Keep Coming Back
11. Brother Woodrow / Closing Prayer

1. If I Were Going (Demo, Recorded At Ultrasuede)
2. Gentlemen (Demo, Recorded At Ultrasuede)
3. Be Sweet (Demo, Recorded At Ultrasuede)
4. Debonair (Demo, Recorded At Ultrasuede)
5. When We Two Parted (Demo, Recorded At Ultrasuede)
6. Fountain And Fairfax (Demo, Recorded At Ultrasuede)
7. What Jail Is Like (Demo, Recorded At Ultrasuede)
8. My Curse (Demo, Recorded At Ultrasuede)
9. Now You Know (Instrumental Rough Mix From Ardent)
10. Brother Woodrow (Instrumental Rough Mix From Ardent)

11. Little Girl Blue [B-Side (Rodgers/Hart) [Recorded At Audiocraft, Cincinnati, OH]
12. Ready [B-Side (Rodgers/Hart) [Recorded At Audiocraft, Cincinnati, OH]
13. Mr. Superlove [B-Side (Rodgers/Hart) [Recorded At Audiocraft, Cincinnati, OH]
14. The Dark End Of The Day The Street [B-Side (Rodgers/Hart) [Recorded At Audiocraft, Cincinnati, OH]
15. What Jail Is Like (KTCL Live Music At The Mercury Café, Denver, CO May 10th, 1994)
16. Now You Know (KTCL Live Music At The Mercury Café, Denver, CO May 10th, 1994)
17. My World Is Empty Without You I Hear A Symphony (KTCL Live Music At The Mercury Café, Denver, CO May 10th, 1994)

Latest Pre-Sales


PRESALE OF THE DAY: Music for the Stars (Celestial Music 1960-1979) A collection of horizontal cosmic tunes perf…
Mon 17th - 5:00
🔵BLUE MONDAY🔵 Bringing you an “official” Blue Monday vinyl today. Apparently, January 17th is the most depressing…
Mon 17th - 10:03
Some Sunday classics here from Marvin Gaye, @UltravoxUK Placebo and Judee Sill.
Sun 16th - 4:00
Little bit of a book sale on the top right pink shelf. 💓 📚 Other books are available plus we have restocked on som…
Sat 15th - 11:38
No problem. Well deserved and now very excited about Vol. 2 🙌 @JonSavage1966
Fri 14th - 1:52
E-newsletter —
Sign up
Back to top