Search Results for:


Anna Calvi

Anna Calvi (10th Anniversary Edition)

    Anna Calvi will release a 10-year Anniversary edition of her self-titled debut album via Domino. An astonishingly confident record; ‘Anna Calvi’ showcases the unique strengths of her songwriting, singing and virtuoso guitar-playing, all jumping out of the speaker together. Calvi drew on the ghosts of Nina Simone and Maria Callas for influence to create a stunningly modern sound.

    To date, Anna Calvi has released three studio albums (‘Anna Calvi’, ‘One Breath’ and ‘Hunter’), a collaborative EP with David Byrne (‘Strange Weather’) and the most recent ‘Hunted’, a seven-track reworking of ‘Hunter’. Additionally, Calvi wrote and performed the score for Season 5 of BBC One’s Peaky Blinders and wrote the music for the opera The Sandman, directed by Robert Wilson.

    Anna is the first solo artist to achieve three consecutive Mercury Prize nominations and has also received a Brit Award nomination. Throughout her career, Calvi has worked with Brian Eno, Marianne Faithfull, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Joe Talbot (IDLES), Dave Okumu (The Invisible), Johnny Flynn, Adrian Utley (Portishead) and Courtney Barnett.

    The LP, which includes the likes of ‘Desire’, ‘Blackout’, ‘Rider To The Sea’ and ‘Suzanne And I’, is reissued for the first time, available to independent retailers on deluxe red vinyl. It also features brand new cover artwork and an 8-page booklet containing previously unseen photographs, plus digital download code.


    1. Rider To The Sea
    2. No More Words
    3. Desire
    4. Suzanne And I
    5. First We Kiss
    6. The Devil
    7. Blackout
    9. I’ll Be Your Man
    10. Morning Light
    11. Love Won’t Be Leaving

    Anna Calvi


      In the summer of 2018, Anna Calvi released her third album Hunter. On the album, she explored sexuality and breaking the laws of gender conformity. Following a stellar 18 months, which saw Calvi write her first television score (for Peaky Blinders) and receive her third consecutive Mercury Prize nomination (the first solo artist to achieve this feat), Calvi has now crafted a stunning reworking of Hunter into Hunted. Revisiting her first recordings for Hunter, Calvi found they offered an intimate and private view of the songs’ initial intentions. Distilled to their bare essence on Hunted: her masterful guitar playing and formidable vocals, Calvi then asked Courtney Barnett, Joe Talbot (IDLES), Charlotte Gainsbourg and Julia Holter to collaborate with her and further transform the songs.

      On Hunted, Calvi said, “During a break from touring I went back and listened to the first recordings I ever made of ‘Hunter’. These recordings capture the very moment I first wrote these songs, and recorded them on my own, in my attic studio. I find something especially intimate about sharing these most private recordings with my favourite singers and asking them to lend their voices and artistic sensibility. Courtney Barnett is an amazing artist. Her voice and guitar playing together are mind blowing. Her ability to connect the profound to the smallest moments of human experience is the unique talent of a true artist.”

      On working together, Barnett said, “Anna is a completely awe-inspiring performer, it’s impossible to take your eyes off her onstage. I love her songwriting for its beautiful and perfect balance between aggression and tenderness.” More raw-sounding than their original incarnations, the tracks on Hunted shine under the light of a different lens, one that brings the innate fragility of the compositions to the forefront and exquisitely melds together the dichotomy of the hunter and the hunted, the primal and the beautiful, the vulnerable and the strong.


      Barry says: The superb turnaround of Anna Calvi's 2018 LP 'Hunter' into 'Hunted' sees Calvi collaborating with a selection of some of the greatest names in modern indie music, and adds futher gravitas to the stunningly written and brilliantly performed pieces on show. Deep and soulful, swimming with gothcic drive and singularly enchanting, this is a perfect companion or a wonderful listen on it's own.


      Swimming Pool (feat. Julia Holter)
      Eden (feat. Charlotte Gainsbourg)
      Don’t Beat The Girl Out Of My Boy (feat. Courtney Barnett)
      Wish (feat. Joe Talbot/IDLES)
      Indies Or Paradise

      Anna Calvi


      Hunter, the third album from Anna Calvi, is the embodiment of the feeling of truly letting go. For the art-rock singer-songwriter it was a catharsis, and an opportunity to be more truthful than she ever had been been before. Revered in the British music industry since she emerged in 2011 (BRIT Award and twice Mercury Prize nominated), she has teamed up with esteemed producer Nick Launay (Nick Cave, Grinderman), Adrian Utley (Portishead) and Martyn Casey (The Bad Seeds) to bring this galvanising record to life.

      Hunter is an album of visceral guitars and vocals, exploring sexualityand breaking the laws of gender conformity. Passionate subject matter calls for passionate delivery, and on Hunter, Calvi pushes the limits of her guitar and her voice beyond anything she’s recorded before. It was important to Calvi that the record was as vulnerable as it is strong; as beautiful as it is ugly. To be the hunter and the hunted.


      Barry says: Calvi is at once arresting and mesmerising, mixing evocative gothic symphonics and soaring melodic waves with a brittle undercurrent, flipping from shimmering synth pop to dark bubbling ambient in the blink of an eye. As immediately appreciable musically as it is conceptually exceptional.


      01. As A Man
      02. Hunter
      03. Don’t Beat The Girl Out Of My Boy
      04. Indies Or Paradise
      05. Swimming Pool
      06. Alpha
      07. Chain
      08. Wish
      09. Away
      10. Eden 

      Anna Calvi

      One Breath

        The second studio album from Mercury-nominated UK artist Anna Calvi.

        Following on from her self titled, critically acclaimed, Top 40 debut, ‘One Breath’ is a bold, confident progression in terms of textures and emotion.

        Produced by John Congleton at Blackbox Studios, France and mixed in Texas.

        Ann Calvi’s debut for Domino is set to be one of the most talked about records of next year.

        Brian Eno has championed her as the most visionary female artiste since Patti Smith, Nick Cave has just taken her out around Europe as special guest of Grinderman, and Rob Ellis (PJ Harvey’s right hand studio man) has produced the music.

        An inspired guitarist influenced by Django Reinhardt as much as Jimi Hendrix, and with vocals inspired by Nina Simone and Mariah Callas, Anna Calvi’s music is a passionate and incredibly original mix.

        The live shows with her permanent three piece band are already wowing audiences across the land.


        Andy says: Ridiculously striking, powerful debut, seemingly from nowhere. If you like all the influences mentioned below, and throw in a bit of gothiness (now apparently ok to like and reference!?) and even early rock 'n'roll, then you're going to love this record.

        Latest Pre-Sales

        119 NEW ITEMS

        Great choices here from our very own Barry aka @AptaMusic Have a read and give the playlist a listen 🎧…
        Fri 26th - 6:17
        TONIGHT! Doors at 8pm people. Ticket/vinyl bundle still available 👇 @nightanddaycafe
        Fri 26th - 3:32
        Brand new banner up today from Richard Dawson & Circle celebrating their album ‘Henki’ which is out today.…
        Fri 26th - 2:08
        Black Friday is go! ⚫️ Head to the website and check out what’s on offer today. Don’t f…
        Fri 26th - 10:00
        Weekly New Release Mailout - Low Hummer, Richard Dawson & Circle, Bayete, Marissa Nadler,…
        Thu 25th - 6:00
        E-newsletter —
        Sign up
        Back to top