Search Results for:


Odd Circus

Mantha (Deluxe)

    Mantha, the mind-blowing EP from avant-rock trio ODD CIRCUS, will see release on deluxe blue vinyl February 11th via UK-based Airbag Records.

    Operating out of Orlando, Florida and Washington, DC, the fittingly monikered ODD CIRCUS explores the suspension of space and time through sound. The band’s music navigates a boundary-less sonic landscape that embraces the unknown and welcomes the bizarre. The result is an experimental style of psychedelic art-rock that weaves its way into garage, fusion, krautrock, no wave, post-rock, noise, hard psych, and sci-fi prog.

    Compiled from free improvisations performed live and originally released independently last spring, Mantha was recorded by the band, mixed by Crews Carter and ODD CIRCUS, and mastered by Joseph Carra at Crystal Mastering (Melbourne, Australia) with cover art by Katharina Maisenbacher.

    Comments the band, "Airbag Records has come out of the gate dedicated to boundary-pushing experimental music, and we're thrilled to be a part of that with this deluxe version of Mantha on LP. In some ways, vinyl feels like the perfect format for the way we operate: We work hard to make our records flow in a way that makes a start-to-finish listen the ideal experience, and the LP encourages you to do just that. Drop the needle, sink in, and enjoy the trip."


    1. Dybukk
    2. Gezora
    3. Amarok
    4. Wendigo
    5. Venadek
    6. Djinn
    7. Maniac (Vinyl Bonus Track)


    Their Fantasy Mirrors

      Serene, sublime and sinister in equal measure, the synth-drenched shoe-gaze of Gravegonzo’s Their Fantasy Mirrors chronicles a series of characters; obsessives transfixed with their own reflections - lyrics that convey a jarring sense of menace, enveloped in sensuous, abstract pop music.

      Musically, the debut LP from the Peckham-based artist brings to mind the enigmatic and ethereal pop of The Cocteau Twins and The Cure, the electronica of Burial and Four Tet as well as the gothic sensibilities from sources as wide-ranging as Siouxsie & The Banshees through to Crystal Castles.

      Threaded throughout the sonically diverse record are lyrics inspired by the abstract narratives of Nick Cave, Tom Waits, et al; sleazy yet shimmering - ominous stories at odds with the beauty of the mellifluous melodies. Their Fantasy Mirrors is an exploration into the complexity of morality, examined through the eyes of the characters vividly brought to life by lyricist Sam Beahan.

      The delicate precision with which Gravegonzo lay their ethereal musical collages over syncopated beats to create enigmatic, ethereal post-pop is nothing short of magnificent. 

      The beauty of it all belies the lyrical content - a dark narrative that unfolds across the record to wondrous effect.

      ‘Their Fantasy Mirrors’ is an undoubtedly impressive debut from an artist at the beginning of what promises to be an exhilarating career.


      Javi says: Damn! This is spectral electro-goth-pop of the highest order - like if Burial released an oldskool 4AD record. There's even hints of John Carpenter soundtracks and Art Angels-era Grimes in there too... Eclectic and haunting!


      1. Lurk Around
      2. Only A Miniature
      3. Cut Off
      4. Their Fantasy Mirrors
      5. See My Dreams
      6. Psalm 666
      7. In Moonlit Clouds
      8. She's Deformed
      9. Pop All My Brain Cells

      Latest Pre-Sales

      173 NEW ITEMS

      Sunday Classics. OPEN until 5pm today.
      Sun 5th - 12:23
      NILE MARR OUTSTORE TONIGHT 🚨 The new album from @NileMarr is out today and to celebrate we’re hosting a launch par…
      Fri 3rd - 12:34
      Ace to have Arthur in yesterday 🐶 8 and a half months old! #dogfriendly #cockapoo
      Fri 3rd - 9:47
      E-newsletter —
      Sign up
      Back to top