Search Results for:


Acid Mothers Temple & The Melting Paraiso U.F.O.

'Myth Of The Love Electrique - 2022 Reissue

    Continuing the ‘first time on vinyl’ purge of the AMT archives. Here’s the band's classic 2006 album finally available on double vinyl for the first time. Housed in full colour gatefold sleeve.

    ‘Myth of the Love Electrique’ is another scorcher from these ridiculously prolific psych masters. This album is notable for being the debut of their newest band member: Kitagawa Hao. Kitagawa's presence doesn't dominate the recording by any means, but her contributions nicely complement the swirling chaos the group generates. Acid Mothers Temple always manages to find a breath of fresh air at the most opportune times, and this is no exception. While remaining a tight unit, bringing Kitagawa into the fold adds another dimension to their chaotic sprawl without having to sacrifice any of their strengths on this incendiary album.

    “Comprised of four lengthy tracks, the album explodes with a start: "The Man from Giacobinid Meteor Comet." Kawabata Makoto's guitar quickly becomes a tangle of screams, a frenzied surge that drags the band along with it. The rhythm section is ferocious. Bassist Tsuyama Atsushi frequently ventures out to the stratosphere, but he also knows when to hold back or to provide a vaguely melodic foundation. Likewise, the amount of energy drummer Shimura Koji dedicates to his performance is a lesson in endurance. Divided into three movements, this track eventually cools down and then glides to a drone landing, alighting the listener breathlessly upon calmer ground.

    Kitagawa's voice makes its first appearance on "Five Dimensional Nightmare," floating over a bouzouki arrangement that sounds like singing glass. This one is divided into three sections like the previous track, but starts airy and then goes into a drone as Tsuyama briefly takes over the vocals. From here, strings are tortured like fingernails on a blackboard before a guitar and Higashi Hiroshi’s water drop electronics restore balance.

    As much as I loved the two previous tracks, the band forges ahead into something different on "Love Electrique." Kitagawa's presence is most felt on this track. Her voice streaks across the mix as blistering guitars and freaky electronics blast all over the place. Over the course of 20 minutes, it hits several different moods and textures on a truly transcendent journey.

    Of the four tracks, only the live staple "Pink Lady Lemonade (May I Drink You Once Again?)" may seem a little redundant. Kitagawa, however, breathes new life into this standard by bringing her vocals to the fore over the entire track, as if restoring an element that previously had been missing. It's hard to call it a definitive version because so many other excellent versions already exist, but it is a great one in its own right. For fans who may be weary of this song after all of its appearances over the years, it is easy enough to stop the disc after gorging on the first hour of music, and it is still a welcome dessert if the mood should strike”


    A. The Man From Giacobinid Meteor Comet
    (a) Giacobinid Meteor Shower Attack
    (b) Viva Astro Django
    (c) Sailing On Giacobini's Orbital (20:44)
    B. Five Dimensional Nightmare
    (a) The Golden Apple And 400 Wives
    (b) Magic Fingers Of The Undesired Fiend
    (c) Or A Spell For Sargasso Of Space (13:34)
    C. Love Electrique (19:30)
    D. Pink Lady Lemonade (May I Drink You Once Again?) (20:32)

    Acid Mothers Temple & The Melting Paraiso UFO

    Absolutely Freak Out! (Zap Your Mind) (RSD22 EDITION)


      First ever repress of their breakthrough album, in the 21st anniversary year - remastered 2xLP on yellow and orange vinyl, in gatefold sleeve.

      Acid Mothers Temple & The Melting Paraiso U.F.O.

      Chosen Star Child's Confession

        The career of Acid Mothers Temple has been an interesting and varied one. With well over 200 releases to their name since 1996, the band have certainly put in the hard yards. Recent times have seen a resurgence in their underground cult popularity.

        Between Autumn 2014 and December 2015, core AMT members Tsuyama Atsushi (bassist / vocalist) and Shimura Koji (drums) left the band. Original members Makoto Kawabata & Hiroshi Higashi took this as their chance to create a new line-up and that this was a good chance to refresh the band with new members.

        The last Acid Mothers Temple album released by Riot Season was 'Reverse Of Rebirth in Universe' in 2018 which was incredibly well received, and is now into it's fourth vinyl pressing. For that album the newly settled line up featuring new boys Wolf (bass), Satoshima Nani (drums) and Jyonson Tsu (vocals) re-recorded old AMT classics and a few new jams. The album and subsequent world tour were incredibly well received, not only by long time AMT diehards but also a whole new crowd who were discovering the band for the first time, either via the album of the show, which included the bands first appearance at Glastonbury Festival in summer 2019.

        Now we finally get to 'Chosen Star Child's Confession', the latest studio album from the band which should be considered the genuine 'first album' of this new line-up with the added presence of Geoff Leigh (ex Henry Cow)

        In the bands own words ...

        "We had recording session with Geoff Leigh (ex. Henry Cow) at the beautiful Sam and Rachel's recording studio in London in July 2018 (with work completed back in Japan in 2019). It was the first year of the new vocalist Jyonson. We recorded some our standards and classics also new jam session. We found many musical direction, daydream psychedelic, dubby jazz groove, Si-Fi trance, experimental exotic chaos, etc... it's the truly beginning of Acid Mothers Temple's new era!"


        1. Nightmarish Heavenly Labyrinth
        2. Diamond Eyes Are Hurt
        3. Cometary Orbital Drive
        4. Infected J Also Live Beast Catastrophe

        CD Contains The Bonus Track ‘Santa Maria Enfance’

        Latest Pre-Sales

        160 NEW ITEMS

        PRESALE OF THE DAY: MUSIC FOR THE STARS (CELESTIAL MUSIC 1960-1979) A collection of laid back, late night songs p…
        Fri 5th - 4:00
        Brand new banner up today from @kokorokomusic to celebrate the release of their debut album, ‘Could We Be More’ out…
        Fri 5th - 1:39
        Happy New Music Friday everyone. Some great new records and reissues out today. Here until 6pm today.…
        Fri 5th - 10:29
        #throwbackthursday One of the original plastic bags from when the shop was at Piccadilly Plaza (original location)…
        Thu 4th - 5:05
        E-newsletter —
        Sign up
        Back to top