Search Results for:


...And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead

Tao Of The Dead - 2023 Reissue

    Reissue of the 2011 album Tao of the Dead by American alternative rock band ...And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of The Dead. First time available on vinyl since its release year. Features a replica of the original comic book insert. Tao of the Dead is their seventh album. The band stripped down to its core four-piece lineup for the record, deviating from the past two records that featured a filled-out six-piece band. This resulted in a stripped-down record with heavy emphasis on guitar. It’s a two-part record, each side with a specific musical tuning; Part One in D and Part Two in F. The album can be listened to as 16 different movements or two lengthy tracks. Part One: Tao Of The Dead is split into eleven tracks, whereas Part Two: Strange News From Another Planet is five songs combined into one. Lead singer Conrad Keely described the album's composition; "It's the way I listened to albums when I was a kid, seeing as some of my favorite records were Pink Floyd's Dark Side of the Moon, Yes' Relayer and Close to the Edge... I always liked listening to records that were just a continuous piece, like an orchestra or a symphony."


    1. The Wasteland
    2. Know Your Honor
    3. Introduction: "Let's Experiment"
    4. Spiral Jetty
    5. Rule By Being Just
    6. Pure Radio Cosplay
    7. Weight Of The Sun (Or The Post-Modern Prometheus)
    8. The Ship Impossible
    9. Summer Of All Dead Souls
    10. Strange Epiphany
    11. Pure Radio Cosplay (Reprise)
    12. Cover The Days Like A Tidal Wave
    13. Racing And Hunting
    14. Fall Of The Empire
    15. Ebb Away
    16. The Fairlight Pendant

    ...And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead

    XI: Bleed Here Now

      Submitted for listener’s approval, …And You Will Know Us By The Trail of Dead present their eleventh album, BLEED HERE NOW…in historic quadraphonic surround sound, giving listeners an immersive listening experience that will take them through a listening journey from one track to the next. Forced into a pandemic-necessitated cancellation of their 2020/2021 tours, the band retreated to lengthy period of doing nothing. After a lengthy period of doing nothing, the band decided to make an album in a way that hasn’t really been done since the 70s - in quadrophonic sound. From the opening bombast of “Our Epic Attempts” to the alternative drive of “Penny Candle” to the thunderous 11-minute opus “Taken By The Hand” this album is unlike anything the band has produced before, equal parts experimental and ambitious, yet still sounding honest and true to what the band is. XI: BLEED HERE NOW was produced by engineer Charles Godfrey alongside Trail’s own Conrad Keely, who also created, directed, edited and produced all of the album’s artwork again.


      1. Our Epic Attempts
      2. Long Distance Hell
      3. Field Songs
      4. Penny Candle
      5. No Confidence
      6. Sting Theme
      7. Kill Everyone
      8. Growing Divide
      9. Pigments
      10. Golden Sail
      11. A Life Less Melancholy
      12. Taken By The Hand
      13. Contra Mundum
      14. Darkness Into Light
      15. Water Tower
      16. Sounds Of Horror
      17. Protest Streets
      18. The Widening Gyre
      19. Millennium Actress
      20. Salt In Your Eyes
      21. English Magic
      22. Calm As The Valley

      And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead

      X: The Godless Void And Other Stories

        Five years on from the release of their previous record, Austin’s beloved art-rock heroes … And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead return with their tenth album – X: The Godless Void and Other Stories. Expansive yet concise, this album nods to the band’s traditional touchstones – the feral scree of Sonic Youth, Rush’s symphonic anthems, the textured bliss of My Bloody Valentine – while morphing effortlessly into newer forms. The synth-orchestral swell of curtain-raiser “Opening Crescendoes” recalls Hans Zimmer and Tangerine Dream, before “All Who Wander” descends from guitar-soaked high drama into simmering, murky psych. Next up, “Something Like This” offers nods to the ethereal songcraft that defined the sound of the legendary 4AD label, before everything kicks in at full pelt with “Into The Godless Void”, as noisy and thrilling an existential anthem as the band have ever put their name to. And this is just the first four songs… Work on X: The Godless Void and Other Stories began in earnest in 2018, after Keely returned to the band’s hometown of Austin following five years in Cambodia. With a new line-up having recently toured the 20th anniversary of their Madonna album, they’re also reverted to the live format of their earlier years, with Reece and Keely alternating between drums and frontman duties – a musical partnership that dates back to their high school days. Appropriately, it all feels fresh.


        1. The Opening Crescendo
        2. All Who Wander
        3. Something Like This
        4. Into The Godless Void
        5. Don't Look Down
        6. Gone
        7. Children Of The Sky
        8. Who Haunts The Haunter
        9. Eyes Of The Overworld
        10. Gravity
        11. Blade Of Wind
        12. Through The Sunlit Door

        Latest Pre-Sales

        154 NEW ITEMS

        E-newsletter —
        Sign up
        Back to top