The Wake


Image of The Wake - Testament
Record Label
Factory Benelux

About this item

Factory Benelux presents Testament, a comprehensive ‘best of’ collection by influential Scottish group The Wake, including tracks recorded for cult labels Factory and Sarah Records.

The Wake formed in Glasgow in early 1981 after singer/guitarist Caesar left future pop stars Altered Images. Joined by Carolyn Allen (keyboards), Steven Allen (drums) and Bobby Gillespie (bass), the band joined Factory the following year, recording debut mini album Harmony at Strawberry Studios in Stockport and subsequently hailed as the missing indiepop link between Factory and Postcard Records. After Gillespie departed for Primal Scream and the Jesus and Mary Chain, The Wake issued second album Here Comes Everybody in 1985, with standout track O Pamela later covered by artful French ensemble Nouvelle Vague.

After leaving Factory the group joined cult Bristol imprint Sarah Records, releasing a brace of indiepop singles and albums in the Nineties before going on hiatus. Caesar and Carolyn reconvened as The Wake in 2009, releasing fifth album A Light Far Out three years later, with more new material due in 2015.

Testament combines key album tracks with popular singles including On Our Honeymoon, Something Outside, Talk About the Past, Of the Matter and Crush the Flowers. Also included are a previously unreleased 7” edit of Pale Spectre, and (on the CD only) 2012 outtake Clouds Disco.

The artwork for Testament is based on the artwork for an unreleased cassette edition of Here Comes Everybody, designed by Peter Saville.


FBN 95 CD Tracklist:
1. On Our Honeymoon
2. Favour
3. Heartburn
4. Something Outside
5. Talk About The Past
6. O Pamela
7. Melancholy Man
8. Here Comes Everybody
9. Of The Matter
10. Gruesome Castle
11. Pale Spectre
12. Crush The Flowers
13. Firestone Tyres
14. A Light Far Out
15. Clouds Disco

FBN 95 Vinyl Tracklist:
A1. On Our Honeymoon
A2. Favour
A3. Something Outside
A4. Talk About The Past
A5. O Pamela
B1. Melancholy Man
B2. Of The Matter
B3. Pale Spectre
B4. Crush The Flowers
B5. Methodist
Bonus CD With Vinyl:

1. Move With The Times
2. Communion
3. No More Green Space
4. Move With The Times (Reprise)
5. Move With The Times
6. Cold Home
7. Communion
8. No More Green Space
9. Patrol
10. Give Up
11. Careering
12. Favour
13. Cold Home
14. Forced To Think
15. Patrol
16. Give Up
17. Move With The Times
18. An Immaculate Conception
19. Chance
20. Judas
21. Company

Back to top