Jane Weaver

The Silver Globe

Image of Jane Weaver - The Silver Globe

About this item


Like all good parables Jane Weaver’s sixth solo album, a concept album called ‘The Silver Globe’, is as multifaceted as it is beguiling. Part coming of age / part cautionary tale and part romantic paeon, this twelve track synth ridden post-apocalyptic prog pop opus is based on tightly embroidered, non-linear recurring themes and inspired by esoteric stories, cosmic imagery and refiltered past experiences.

Written from the optimistic vantage of a long-standing female independent artist, in an desperately evolving industry, Jane’s latest set of self penned pop abstractions combine mechanical rock / recycled European cinema / empyrean vocalisations and an arsenal of rescued vintage synths to create a futurist narrative backdrop of a allegorical post apocalyptic landscape.

‘The Silver Globe’ features collaborations with David Holmes, Australian space rockers Cybotron, Damon Gough (Badly Drawn Boy), Suzanne Ciani and Andy Votel, as well as a recycled chunk of an 80s Hawkwind track.

Click here to view the full Q&A that Jane Weaver did with Piccadilly Records for our End Of Year Review Booklet 2014.


Philippa says: The seeds of ‘The Silver Globe’ can be heard in Jane Weaver’s previous album, 2010’s ‘The Fallen By Watch Bird’; the analogue synthetic textures, ethereal folk and idiosyncratic lyrical imagery. However, nothing will prepare you for the evolution the Manchester-based singer-songwriter has made with this new long player. All the things I love about Jane’s music are still present, but augmented by krautrock and spacerock rhythms and adventures into twisted disco and electronic pop, making for a more varied and fuller sounding album than her previous offerings. And like the unputdownable book, this is the album in 2014 that I couldn’t stop playing.
Although the songs are often quite disparate (the propulsive motorik drive of “Argent”, riff-heavy Hawkwind-sampling “The Electric Mountain”, quirky Euro-70s synth-pop “Don't Take My Soul”, cosmic disco rocker “Mission Desire” or the more intimate solo pieces “Arrows”, “Stealing Gold”, “If Only We Could Be In Love” and “Your Time In This Life Is Just Temporary”), all are wrapped with the unique drones and celestial flutterings of vintage synthesisers and keyboards (RMI, Orchestron, Casio MT46, Moog, Roland, Korg, Farfisa, Buchla), creating a thread that binds the music together.
A concept album based on post-apocalyptic landscapes, but also a coming of age story, part cautionary tale and romantic paeon, ‘The Silver Globe’ hits the highest level so far in Weaver’s continually upward trajectory as a songwriter and producer. And while the album also features cameos from the extended Finders Keepers family (intergalactic sax by Steve Maxwell Von Braund, Buchla waves by Suzanne Ciani, Damon Gough’s synth guitar, David Holmes and Andy Votel co-producing here and there), along with live band back up on key tracks, ‘The Silver Globe’ is still totally, uniquely Jane Weaver. Her vocals, either pure and crystalline, or drenched in space-echo and reverb, are the best they’ve ever been; beguiling, yearning, spellbinding. Her song writing has never been better; these are melodies that stay with you, lyrics you will find yourself singing. It’s a wonderfully assured outing by an artist at the top of her game.


1. The Silver Globe
2. Argent
3. The Electric Mountain
4. Arrows
5. Don't Take My Soul
6. Cells
7. Mission Desire
8. Stealing Gold
9. If Only We Could Be In Love
10. Your Time In This Life Is Just Temporary

Back to top