Mark Barrott

Sketches From An Island

Image of Mark Barrott - Sketches From An Island
Record Label
International Feel

About this item

Certain places have a history that allows things to happen outside the norm. Ibiza is one of those. A place where anyone with an open heart can find their space. A place where maverick thinking still matters. It's this environment that in turn nurtured and created the music and style known as Balearic.

Mark Barrott’s (ex Future Loop Foundation) ‘Sketches From An Island’ compresses this Balearic heartbeat into nine warm gems which paint a picture of the island, the people and the magnetic beauty that pulses through it. Recorded in Ibiza's northern hills using “weird percussion, some slide guitars and a few borrowed synths,” it’s a melodic and mysterious representation of a place seeped in a rich and rebellious history.
Opening track ‘Baby Come Home’ radiates with carefree tropical sounds and upbeat harmonies. The blues-soaked melodies of ‘Essene’ perfectly navigates the tension between heart-bursting happiness and melancholy and ‘Go Berri Be Happy’ is like Prefab Sprout gone to Ghana. It’s colour smudged hazy emotions swirl between Brian Eno, Penguin Café Orchestra and Compass Point vibes into a free-flowing cascade of live playing and synthesized sound, perfectly epitomised on the future classic 'Formentera Headspace Blues'.

“'Sketches' is inspired by those weird, unique little oddities that would turn up on early José Padilla mix tapes that he’d sell in the Las Dalias hippy market, before he even went to the Café Del Mar,” says Barrott. “It’s influenced by living in Ibiza year-round, and by the feeling of what I think Balearic sounds like.”

It’s warm and widescreen music for the days when you need musical sunshine. Or as original Café Del Mar’s José Padilla, has it: “This is what I call Balearic.”


01. Baby Come Home
02. Dr Nimm's Garden Of Intrigue & Delight
03. Go Berri Be Happy
04. Essene
05. Formentera Headspace Blues (Pts. 1 & 2)
06. Deep Water
07. Island Life
08. Back To The Sea
09. Sacred Islands

LP Tracklisting:
A1. Baby Come Home
A2. Dr Nimm's Garden Of Intrigue & Delight
A3. Go Berri Be Happy
B1. Essen
B2. Formentera Headspace Blues (Pts. 1 & 2)
C1. Deep Water
C2. Island Life
C3. Back To The Sea
D1. Sacred Islands

Back to top