The Books

Freedom From Expression DVD

Image of The Books - Freedom From Expression  DVD
Record Label
Temporary Residence Ltd.

About this item

The Books were one of modern musicʼs most vital players of this still-young millennium. Over the course of four albums in ten yearsʼ time, they eschewed genres and pigeonholes so effortlessly and earnestly that they ultimately pioneered a new genre (or three) in the process. And for all the speechlessness their recordings inspired, their videos were every bit as beguiling: a surreal mix of bizarre found footage, home movies, and psychedelic animated imagery that fit their music so well that the two became virtually inseparable in their live performances.

Freedom From Expression collects every video ever made by the Books, compiled in chronological order. Itʼs enormously satisfying and fulfilling to map the progression from humble bedroom curiosities through to hilariously warped experimental art films masquerading as music videos. At over two hours in length across 21 videos, it is an invaluable piece of the Booksʼ universe, one that demands constant replays, and delivers as many emotional and cerebral twists and turns as anything else in their absurdly unique and forward-thinking catalog.


1. That Right Ain’t Shit (2:48)
2. Be Good To Them Always (4:42)
3. Smells Like Content (3:43)
4. Take Time (3:37)
5. Meditation (1:04)
6. It Never Changes To Stop (4:03)
7. Tokyo (3:43)
8. All A’s (3:37)
9. If Now, Whenever (3:37)
10. Classy Penguin (4:33)
11. 8 Frame (5:46)
12. An Owl With Knees (4:44)
13. Twelve Fold Chain (4:46)
14. Cello Song Feat. Jose Gonzales (3:54)
15. Handfart Man (2:00)
16. Group Autogenics I (3:44)
17. I Didn’t Know That (3:38)
18. A Cold Freezin’ Night (3:23)
19. Chain Of Missing Links (4:31)
20. We Bought The Flood (5:04)
21. Mommy Daddy (1:00)

You may also like

Back to top