Otis Redding

Pain In My Heart - 180g Vinyl Edition

Image of Otis Redding - Pain In My Heart - 180g Vinyl Edition
Record Label
Music On Vinyl

About this item

At just 22 years of age, Otis Redding showed incredible maturity in his distinctive gravelly voice that became the vocal benchmark of Soul music. His very first album Pain In My Heart (1964) contained his first hit from 1962, “These Arms Of Mine”. His versatility shows in the diverse selection of material, like “The Dog” by Rufus Thomas, “Stand By Me” by Ben E. King, “You Send Me” by Sam Cooke and “Lucille” by Little Richard. Backing him up are the rhythm section from Stax house band Booker T. & The MG’s and the horn players from The Mar-Keys. The album promised a wonderful career of Redding, which unfortunately would only last a mere 3 years after the release of Pain In My Heart.


Sil says: This man talked the language of love and helps us all to learn what it is like to have the most ecstatic feelings and the worst, most miserable ones, at the same time.
The title track, 'Pain in My Heart', in my opinion, epitomises the above perfectly. And to me it holds that raw passion and soul that the Stones lacked in their version.
In here you also have a superb version of Ben E King's Stand by Me' or the moving ode to rejected love 'These Arms of Mine'.
A timeless album showcasing the mastery of one of the best blues and soul voices that we have ever been gifted with. This was recorded when Otis was just 22 year old.


Side 1
1. Pain In My Heart
2. The Dog
3. Stand By Me
4. Hey Hey Baby
5. You Send Me
6. I Need Your Lovin’

Side 2
1. These Arms Of Mine
2. Louie Louie
3. Something Is Worrying Me
4. Security
5. That’s What My Heart Needs
6. Lucille

Back to top