Jon Hopkins


Image of Jon Hopkins - Immunity

About this item

Jon Hopkins releases ‘Immunity’, his fourth solo album, via Domino.

A powerful, multi-faceted beast, packed with the most aggressively dancefloor-focussed music Hopkins has ever made, ‘Immunity’ is about achieving euphoric states through music.

Inspired by the arc of an epic night out, the album peaks with ‘Collider’, a huge, apocalyptic, techno monster and dissolves with the quiet, heartbreakingly beautiful closer, ‘Immunity’, a track featuring vocals from King Creosote, which could sit comfortably alongside the gems of their
Mercury-nominated collaboration, ‘Diamond Mine’.

Jon Hopkins is also an expert producer, Ivor Novello-nominated composer of film scores, long-term collaborator of Brian Eno and Coldplay, and remixer of artists as diverse as David Lynch, Four Tet, Wild Beasts, Nosaj Thing, and Purity Ring.


Philippa says: Previously better known for his collaborations with other artists (Brian Eno, Coldplay, King Creosote etc) than for his own work, the release of ‘Immunity’ puts Jon Hopkins centre stage and in the spotlight. Giving the album a filmic breadth Hopkins themed ‘Immunity’ around a night out clubbing. The first half features the “club” tracks, including heavyweight single “Open Eye Signal”, climaxing with the techno anthem “Collider”. The second half of the album (“chilling out”) opens with the beautiful ambient piece “Abandon Window”, pushing Hopkins skill as a classical pianist to the fore. King Creosote joins him for title track “Immunity”, reminiscent of their pairing on ‘Diamond Mine’. Fed up with standard equipment presets, Hopkins set about building his own found sound archive. The backing tracks he created using these samples are what give ‘Immunity’ its distinct feel: the whirr and clunk of organic rhythms and immersive cityscape ambience. Epic and emotionally uplifting, ‘Immunity’ is one of 2013’s electronic music highlights.


1. We Disappear
2. Open Eye Signal
3. Breathe This Air
4. Collider
5. Abandon Window
6. Form By Firelight
7. Sun Harmonics
8. Immunity

Back to top