David Bowie

The Man Who Sold The World - 2015 Remaster Edition

Image of David Bowie - The Man Who Sold The World - 2015 Remaster Edition
Record Label

About this item

"Even though it contained no hits, The Man Who Sold the World, for most intents and purposes, is the beginning of David Bowie's classic period. Working with guitarist Mick Ronson and producer Tony Visconti for the first time, Bowie developed a tight, twisted heavy guitar rock that appears simple on the surface but sounds more gnarled upon each listen. The mix is off-center, with the fuzz-bass dominating the compressed, razor-thin guitars and Bowie's strangled, affected voice. The sound of The Man Who Sold the World is odd, but the music is bizarre itself, with Bowie's bizarre, paranoid futuristic tales melded to Ronson's riffing and the band's relentless attack. Musically, there isn't much innovation on The Man Who Sold the World - it is almost all hard blues-rock or psychedelic folk-rock - but there's an unsettling edge to the band's performance, which makes the record one of Bowie's best albums." - Allmusic.


Andy says: The classic title track would famously be covered by Nirvana on their "MTV Unplugged" album, but as ever, this record is pretty unlike anything else The Dame would go on to produce.


1. The Width Of A Circle (1999 Digital Remaster)
2. All The Madmen (1999 Digital Remaster)
3. Black Country Rock (1999 Digital Remaster)
4. After All (1999 Digital Remaster)
5. Running Gun Blues (1999 Digital Remaster)
6. Saviour Machine (1999 Digital Remaster)
7. She Shook Me Cold (1999 Digital Remaster)
8. The Man Who Sold The World (1999 Digital Remaster)
9. The Supermen (1999 Digital Remaster)

Back to top