David Bowie

Scary Monsters

Image of David Bowie - Scary Monsters
Record Label

About this item

"David Bowie returned to relatively conventional rock & roll with Scary Monsters, an album that effectively acts as an encapsulation of all his '70s experiments. Reworking glam rock themes with avant-garde synth flourishes, and reversing the process as well, Bowie creates dense but accessible music throughout Scary Monsters. Though it doesn't have the vision of his other classic records, it wasn't designed to break new ground -- it was created as the culmination of Bowie's experimental genre-shifting of the '70s. As a result, Scary Monsters is Bowie's last great album. While the music isn't far removed from the post-punk of the early '80s, it does sound fresh, hip, and contemporary, which is something Bowie lost over the course of the '80s." - Allmusic.


1. It's No Game (Part 1) (1999 Digital Remaster)
2. Up The Hill Backwards (1999 Digital Remaster)
3. Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps) (1999 Digital Remaster)
4. Ashes To Ashes (1999 Digital Remaster)
5. Fashion (1999 Digital Remaster)
6. Teenage Wildlife (1999 Digital Remaster)
7. Scream Like A Baby (1999 Digital Remaster)
8. Kingdom Come (1999 Digital Remaster)
9. Because You're Young (1999 Digital Remaster)
10. It's No Game (Part 2) (1999 Digital Remaster)

Back to top