Jason Collett


Image of Jason Collett - Reckon
Record Label
Arts & Crafts

About this item

Jason Collett is one of Canada’s most beloved songwriters and storytellers, with a powerful and diverse catalogue of rock and folk compositions stretching back more than a decade. From his earliest works with Toronto collective Broken Social Scene to his 2005 breakthrough ‘Idols Of Exile’, Collett has received constant critical acclaim.

One of Arts & Crafts’ most consistent and successful artists, he continued his strong run of solo releases with ‘Here’s To Being Here’ (2008), ‘Rat A Tat Tat’ (2010) and ‘Pony Tricks’ (2010), an acoustic album of reworked songs.

‘Reckon’ is an acknowledgement of loss - lost jobs, lost homes, loss of faith in our political and financial institutions and in turn, loss of illusion. Stopping short of calling it a political record, Collett didn’t set out to make an album with these overtones, but neither did he try to stop it.

‘Reckon’ includeS a companion disc entitled ‘Essential Cuts’, a career retrospective featuring nine Collett must-haves as well as two previously unreleased B-sides. This collection existS as a bonus disc with the CD purchase of ‘Reckon’, and as a download in the vinyl.

‘Reckon’ features a slew of guest musicians, including Basia Bulat, Bryden Baird (Feist), Taylor Knox (Sloan), Darcy Yates (Amy Millan), Afie Jurvanen (Bahamas), Neil Quin, Mike O’Brien and Carl Nicholsen (Zeus), amongst others.

Recent high profile TV and film placements include a Buick TV campaign, ‘Hops Springs’ movie (starring Meryl Streep, Tommy Lee Jones and Steve Carell), and ‘Parenthood (NBC).

For fans of Arts & Crafts, Broken Social Scene, Wilco, Tom Petty, Bob Dylan.


Pacific Blue
Jasper Johns Flag
King James Rag
Sailor Boy
Ask No Questions
You’re Not The One And Only Lonely One
Miss Canada
Talk Radio
I Wanna Rob A Bank
Where Things Go Wrong
Song Of The Silver Haired Hippie
Black Diamond Girl
My Daddy Was A RocknRoller
Don’t Let The Truth Get To You
When The War Came Home

Essential Cuts - Bonus Disc With CD / Download With LP
Bitter Beauty
Blue Sky
We All Lose One Another
Hangover Days
I’ll Bring The Sun
No Redemption Song
Angel Of Kensington
Long May You Love
Love Is A Dirty Word
Every Night (Paul McCartney Cover)

You may also like

Back to top