Bat For Lashes

The Haunted Man

Image of Bat For Lashes - The Haunted Man
Record Label

About this item

Bat for Lashes first captured hearts way back in 2006 with a set of distinctively haunting and darkly phantasmagorical songs ripe with magic realism. Two Mercury Music Prize nominated albums, the atavistic, reverb-drenched Fur and Gold (2006) and 2009’s universally acclaimed Two Suns, re-affirming Natasha Khan as a unique song writing talent and one who is paving her own way. Bat for Lashes returns with her long awaited third album The Haunted Man via Parlophone on October 15th. Produced by long time collaborator David Kosten and newly appointed Dan Carey, the album features a mixture of electronic beats and swooning ballads backed by an orchestra recorded at Abbey Rd. studios.

The title track is one of the album’s two pole stars. Khan sees it as the record’s ‘godfather’, representing the trauma of loss and miscommunication (with the other being the more hopeful ‘Lilies’, exploring creative resurgence, love and sensuality). ‘The Haunted Man’ is an overwhelmingly lovely song, poignant and ghostly, but with a strong restorative charge and was inspired by David Lean’s movie ‘Ryan’s Daughter’, which is set in 1916 against the backdrop of the Irish conflict. This was one of several songs she worked on with Rob Ellis, when they and other players decamped to a house in Perugia last summer, and it involved projecting massed male vocals across a canyon with an amp, then recording the slapback – a sonic metaphor for the men returning over the hill from war.


Millie says: An awe inspiring album from Bat For Lashes, not only is her voice beautifully haunting but her lyrics carry so much meaning. The songs are teamed with narratives which makes them spring to life. The new upcoming album ‘The Bride’ is highly anticipated in my books.


1. Lilies
2. All Your Gold
3. Horses Of The Sun
4. Oh Yeah
5. Laura
6. Winter Fields
7. The Haunted Man
8. Marilyn
9. A Wall
10. Rest Your Head
11. Deep Sea Diver

Back to top