Neal Morgan

In The Yard

Image of Neal Morgan - In The Yard
Record Label
Drag City

About this item

‘In The Yard’ is the second drum and voice album from Neal Morgan, finding the writer at the drum kit considering home, wandering his neighbourhood to know and become known, calling out villains from his youth, swimming on tour, reaching out to loved ones, and paying homage to the painter Philip Guston. The album extends Neal’s commitment to composing exclusively with drumming and singing.

Over the past several years, Neal has been widely heard and seen as the drummer for Joanna Newsom and Bill Callahan, having arranged and performed the drums and percussion on Newsom’s ‘Have One On Me’, and Callahan’s ‘Apocalypse’, as well as accompanying Newsom in performance since 2006 and Callahan since 2009, often times opening shows around the world.

Neal’s 2009 debut, ‘To The Breathing World’, presented a particular flavour of drum and voice composition not previously presented for commercial consumption. Neal found artistic independence through the medium, a staking out of fertile ground. ‘In The Yard’ is similarly a purposeful venture into the world of song from a singing drummer’s perspective behind the kit.


1. On Tour
2. Father’s Day
3. I Stand On A Roof
4. In The Yard
5. On A Cut Hill
6. Kicking The Ball
7. May 21, 2009
8. Thinking Big
9. Wandering The Block
10. The Evidence
11. It’s Man Or Mouse Now
12. I Dreamed

You may also like

Back to top