Image of Blondes - Blondes
Record Label
RVNG Intl.

About this item

Sam Haar and Zach Steinman met at Oberlin College in 2003, where they studied electro-acoustic composition and studio art respectively. After graduation and stints apart in Oakland and NYC, the pair regrouped in Berlin where Blondes was born, eventually settling on Brooklyn for home base.

Blondes quickly evolved from a home studio project to a live experience built around a tactile assemblage of synthesizers, sequencers, and drum machines. Initially inspired by German composer Manuel Göttsching and his seminal "E2-E4" album, the basement and warehouse venues that curiously welcomed Blondes' syrupy, space-case dance music provided a reactive environment for the duo to develop their sound and work ethic. As they started playing at nightclubs renowned for their sound systems and ecstatic dancefloors, Haar and Steinman realized a potential for their music to resonate at a higher fidelity and deeper frequency, both sonically and spiritually. Blondes' heart aligned with house music in its most liquid form.

A 12” series on RVNG Intl. was initiated in 2011 to document Blondes' evolution. Each record contains a pair of tracks that explore the concept of duality through a personal lens intensely focused on moving the body. The A-side of "Lover" / "Hater" is centered upon a Meredith Monk sample, a primal scream signalling Blondes' rebirth. "Business" / "Pleasure" confronts the struggle of sustaining individuality in a sinister commercial world and stylistically references Blondes' time spent in the UK. The final 12", "Wine" / "Water", swings on pendulum between excess and restraint while exhibiting the duo's most melodic and mature work thus far.

Available as limited edition vinyl pressings, these six tracks are collected together in album form along with two new offerings, "Gold" and "Amber". Almost entirely improvised and recorded in single takes, "Gold" and "Amber" are inspired by complexity and purity, which manifests in the manic energy and bliss of the parallel tracks.

Disc 1 compiles three 'duality' 12”s released on RVNG Int. over the course of 2011 and adds two new tracks. Disc 2 Features remixes friends, peers, and heroes including JD Twitch of Optimo, Dungeon Acid, SFV Acid, John Roberts, Andy Stott, Robert Miles (yes, that Robert Miles), Teengirl Fantasy, Bicep, Traxx, Laurel Halo, and Rene Hell.


01. Lover
02. Hater
03. Business
04. Pleasure
05. Wine
06. Water
07. Gold
08. Amber

01. Lover (A JD Twitch Optimo Mix)
02. Lover (Dungeon Acid Remix)
03. Hater (SFV Acid's Encino Oaks Remix)
04. Business (John Roberts Remix)
05. Pleasure (Andy Stott Remix)
06. Wine (Teengirl Fantasy Remix)
07. Water (Bicep Remix)
08. Gold (One Blonde Strange Idea By Traxx)
09. Gold (Laurel Halo Chains Remix)
10. Amber (Variation In Cm By Rene Hell)

Back to top