Poor, Poor Grendel

Image of Fairewell - Poor, Poor Grendel
Record Label
Sonic Cathedral

About this item

Fairewell is the new project of Sheffield-born, North London-based Johnny White, formerly of The Rollercoaster Project.

The debut album ‘Poor, Poor Grendel’ features ‘Born Under A Bad Sign’, which was featured on Lauren Laverne’s BBC 6 Music show.

‘Born Under A Bad Sign’, with its video featuring a boy unwittingly leading a sheep to its untimely demise, became a blog hit.

Musically veers from elegiac post-rock to saturnine synth-pop. Radio Dept-style indie makes way for lengthy instrumentals which bring to mind M83 covering ‘Songs From The Big Chair’-era Tears For Fears.


1. Grendel (Apocalyptic Visions)
2. Others Of Us
3. Wild Meadow / I’ve Been Locked Away
4. Honey Street
5. Grendel (Reprise)
6. Born Under A Bad Sign
7. So May We All
8. Sunday Towns

You may also like

Back to top