The Phantom Forest

Image of Bearsuit - The Phantom Forest
Record Label
Fortuna POP!

About this item

Bearsuit return with an off-the-wall pop masterpiece and a fierce new sound incorporating dirty synths, urgent guitars and infectious beats. Produced by Gareth Parton (The Go! Team, Breeders, Foals) the 12-track long-player heralds a fierce new sound for the band, who have swapped violins, flutes and horns for dirty synths, urgent guitars and infectious beats in the light of a dramatic line-up change. The polished disco-synth debut single "Please Don’t Take Him Back" was playlisted on BBC 6Music , as well as being hotly tipped in the music press including Artrocker & Clash. Weeks later and their second release "A Train Wreck" was rated an NME Top 10 Download. The band lead into 2011 having secured a profile slot at the SXSW festival in Texas for Huw Stephens’ Radio 1 showcase.

"The Phantom Forest" is laden with dance-floor fillers, killer beats and brazen melodies. It will keep you dancing until all the booze is drunk, with a birdsong finale to serenade your dawn-walk home. But lurking beneath, a more sinister and melancholy thread weaves the 12 tracks together. Beset by their own dangers, Bearsuit have survived to make the best album of their career. With a new rhythm section on board they have reinvigorated their sound - punctuating the songs with more urgency, but without losing their pop sensibilities and unaffected charm.

Based in Norwich, the band now consists of Iain Ross on guitar and keyboards, Lisa Horton on keyboards, and Jan Robertson on guitar and keyboards, with new recruits Charlene Katuwawala on bass and keyboards and Joe Naylor on drums. All 5 sing.


1. Princess, You're A Test
2. Please Don't Take Him Back
3. A Train Wreck
4. When Will I Be Queen?
5. Albino Tiger Rescue Squad
6. Jim Henson's Creature Workshop
7. Cut Loose
8. Ghosts Of The Black Hole
9. Tentacles
10. Giant Archaeopteryx
11. Kwaa-Kwaa
12. Dawn Of The Golden Oriole

Back to top