Broken Bells

Broken Bells

Image of Broken Bells - Broken Bells
Record Label

About this item

James Mercer and Brian Burton aka Danger Mouse have completed work on the first album by their new and ongoing band Broken Bells.

The album features 10 melodically seductive and psychologically provocative songs co-written and performed by Mercer and Burton.

Broken Bells features Mercer on vocals, guitars and bass while Burton plays organ, drums, piano, synths and bass. The pair play all the instruments on the album with the exception of a full string section arranged by Daniele Luppi. "Broken Bells" was recorded by Todd Monfalcone and Kennie Takahashi at Mondo Studio in Los Angeles and produced by Burton.

Each a long-time fan of the other's work, Burton and Mercer first met face-to-face backstage at the 2004 Roskilde Festival in Copenhagen. The pair immediately hit it off and kept in touch over the prevailing half decade and in May 2008 seized the opportunity to finally collaborate on original music together.


Andy says: Less angular and angsty than The Shins but with those gorgeous pop melodies still intact. Perfect!


1. The High Road
2. Vaporize
3. Your Head Is On Fire
4. The Ghost Inside
5. Sailing To Nowhere
6. Trap Doors
7. Citizen
8. October
9. Monster Heart
10. The Mall & Misery

Back to top