Image of Portishead - Dummy

About this item

Hip hop enthusiast and obsessive break hunter Geoff Barrow, jazz musician Adrian Utley and singer-songwriter Beth Gibbons created Portishead's genre defining 'trip hop' album "Dummy" in 1994. The set's combination of head-nod beats and cinematic atmospherics (including Theremin, Rhodes, and Hammond) both sampled and played live, was given an extra twist by Barrow, who pressed the recordings up on vinyl and scratch-mixed them together, passing the resulting tapes on to Gibbons to add lyrics and a tune to. And it's Gibbon's who lifts the album into Mercury Music prize-winning territory, adding a heart-rending melancholia with her fragile folk-soul vocals. Featuring the singles "Sour Times" and "Glory Box", "Dummy" is just one of those must-have albums.


Andy says: From Johnny Marr to Jamie XX, everybody fell in love with this massively influential debut album.

Philippa says: An era defining 'trip hop' album that was leaps and bounds ahead of the chasing pack. Crate diggers sample choices, analogue synth textures and Beth Gibbons smoky blues vocals. Wow!


1. Mysterons (5:02)
2. Sour Times (4:11)
3. Strangers (3:55)
4. It Could Be Sweet (4:16)
5. Wandering Star (4:51)
6. It's A Fire (3:49)
7. Numb (3:54)
8. Roads (5:02)
9. Pedestal (3:39)
10. Biscuit (5:01)
11. Glory Box (5:06)

Back to top